Databases by Subject: History

Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.

Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.

Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.

Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.

Search full text and images 1851-2020 including news, illustrations, editorials, and advertisements.

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.

Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hot issue and world news provide sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.  This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Historical abstracts of global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.

Data, charts, and statistics on topics such as population, work and welfare, economy, governance and international relations.

Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.

Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Search full text of the New York Times.

Search full text and images 1851-2020 including news, illustrations, editorials, and advertisements.

Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.

Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.

Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Over 1100 titles, many published on behalf of prestigious societies, organizations and associations such as: Association of American Geographers, American Planning Association, British Educational Research Association, and the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS).  Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.

Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.   This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History with authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.      This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.