Databases by Subject: Medicine & Health

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Contains hundreds of peer-reviewed open access journals. BMC is dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across a portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.

Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe. Europe PMC is developed by EMBL-EBI. It is a partner of PubMed Central and a repository of choice for many international science funders. Free, transparent, and community-driven, Europe PMC is a gateway to life science research. Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. It's available to anyone, anywhere for free. With Europe PMC you can search and read 43.3 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.

A vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. More than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions.  Includes Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

Contains hundreds of peer-reviewed open access journals. BMC is dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across a portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.

Reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide

Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe. Europe PMC is developed by EMBL-EBI. It is a partner of PubMed Central and a repository of choice for many international science funders. Free, transparent, and community-driven, Europe PMC is a gateway to life science research. Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. It's available to anyone, anywhere for free. With Europe PMC you can search and read 43.3 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.

Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to reference titles.  This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Provides full text from medical and consumer journals, health newsletters, topical overviews and pamphlets.  This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.  Many are freely accessible to all.

Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.

Full text news, legal, business, and biographical information.

Portal to all NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases and tools including: Gene, Protein, Blast, Nucleotide, Genome, GenBank, PubMed, PubChem

Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

A collection of periodicals and reference content supporting health care professionals with articles on direct patient care, healthcare administration, and more.     This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

A collection of periodicals supporting physical therapy and sports medicine, with articles on treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.    This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

PLOS Biology is an open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. New articles are published online weekly; issues are published monthly.

PLOS Medicine is the leading open-access medical journal, providing an influential venue for outstanding research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide. We specifically seek to publish articles relevant to clinicians and policymakers across a range of settings that adhere to the highest standards of methodology, ethics and reporting and address the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health.

Indexes the literature of psychology provided by American Psychological Association (APA) PyscNET.

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.