Guides: Databases by Subject: Physics: Home

Physics Databases

Try searching the following databases but if you can’t find what you need contact a librarian for research assistance. For articles not available in full text through Gordon Library, please request through Interlibrary Loan.

ASTM Compass | ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Current edition, includes data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds, values for fundamental physical constants, and tables needed by chemists, physicists, and engineers.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
HighWire Press This link opens in a new window
From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | WPI Access | Search Tips
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Search Institute of Physics electronic journals with articles in various scientific, technical and medical disciplines.
Coverage: 1974-
Full Text: Yes
Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form as well as a classic search form. A browsable paper form is also available.
Coverage: 1975-
Full Text: Yes
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes all American Physical Society journals.
Coverage: 1893 - 2010
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts of 100+ journals from American Institute of Physics (AIP), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), and science and engineering societies. WPI subscribes to 70+ titles.
Coverage: 1957-
Full Text: Some
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Subject areas include: • Advanced technologies • Aerospace • Agricultural science • Aquatic science • Atmospheric science • Biological science • Computer science • Earth science • Environmental science • Engineering • Materials science • Polymer science. See https://proquest.libguides.com/scitechpremium/about for more information and searching guidance.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library.
Coverage: 1962-
Full Text: Yes
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Access to a variety of scholarly science journals and eBooks published by Springer.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Individual chapters and subscribed books are available to download as PDFs.
Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1962 - current
Web of Science (WPI Access ended 6/30/2021)
Interface to Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, plus ability to perform cross database searches (outside of ISI products).
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes