Digital Scholarship: Datasets & APIs

The British Library's collection of datasets includes digitized books, manuscripts, and card catalogs.

The New York Public Library releases metadata about copyright-free items in their digital collections through GitHub, a site for sharing and collaborating on code.

"Supports large-scale computational analysis of the works in the HathiTrust Digital Library to facilitate non-profit and educational research."

Provides access to public domain images of historic artwork and related information on Artsy.net for educational and other non-commercial purposes.

Provides access to Brooklyn Museum collection images and data.

Provides access to 360 years of United States caselaw.

The Data.gov catalog of APIs provides access to United States government data.

Provides programmatic search and access to every item in the DPLA catalog.

Europeana's APIs provide access to data from the collections of major museums and galleries across Europe.

Provides access to selected open access datasets from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collections.

Provides access to indicators, development-related datasets, World Bank operations and financial data, and climate data.

This research guide created by the Tufts Libraries contains a list of other APIs.

About: Tool and community developed around supporting the ethical collection, use, and preservation of social media content.
Access: Free and open source.

About: Catalog of publicly shared datasets of tweet IDs from Twitter
Access: Free and open source

About: "Hydrates" tweets by generating JSON files from tweet ID datasets.
Access: Free and open source.
Application Type: Desktop client

About: Harvests social media data and web resources from Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr, and Sina Weibo.
Access: Free and open source.

About: List of social media research tools curated by researchers at the Social Media Lab at Ryerson University.

Tutorial for collecting and working with Twitter data using free online tools.