Guides: Databases by Type: Electronic Books: Find Electronic Books (ebooks)

Related Guides

Databases by Type: Dictionaries & Thesauri
by No Preference Last Updated Jul 19, 2023 29 views this year
Databases by Type: Encyclopedias
by No Preference Last Updated Jul 19, 2023 72 views this year

Electronic Book Collections & Databases

These eBook collections & databases allow reading through your browser, and some allow downloading chapters or complete volumes for offline reading.

ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection (HEB) This link opens in a new window
The ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection (ACLS HEB) presents thousands of foundational books in the humanities and social sciences from hundreds of publishers, with 150-200 new titles added annually. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion.
Cambridge Core e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
ebook collection of over 27,000 titles from Cambridge University Press; available in html format or downloadable PDFs.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English. With over 125,000 titles from before 1700, the EEBO contains virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Ebook Central (ProQuest Ebook Central) This link opens in a new window
200,000+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics, Computers, Technology & Engineering, Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences. For help using Ebook Central: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral

You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
>>In case of difficulty, try clearing your browser's cache.<<

Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
For most titles users can download chapters or sections by page range to PDF. Whole book downloads available for up to 3 weeks via Adobe Digital Editions. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download eBooks for offline reading.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search and browse 12,000 full text eBooks.
Full Text: Yes
Elgar Online Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Two ebook collections from Elgar Publishing: Sustainable Development Goals Essentials and Climate Change Essentials, plus 111 open access titles from Elgar.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search Gale eBook reference content such as Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Major Acts of Congress, Encyclopedia of Bioethics and 20+ other titles.
Coverage: 2000-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Content can be downloaded, typically as an HTML file. However, some are available as a PDF.
JSTOR e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Browsable collection of e-books from JSTOR. Downloadable PDFs available at the chapter level.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: General Engineering & Project Administration section; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering section; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering section; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
MIT Press Direct Ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 3000+ ebook titles from MIT Press. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Collection (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of 50- to 100-page electronic books in Engineering and Computer Science that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
O’Reilly Books This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
See https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly for further information.

***To view and download O'Reilly eBooks, WPI community members must create a personal account with their @wpi.edu email account.
Project MUSE Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 4000 Open Access ebooks from Project Muse
SPIE Digital Library (Books) ( 1989 - 2017) This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1989 - 2017. A collection of top optics and photonics titles from SPIE. Spotlights: Concise, topically focused, peer-reviewed mini-tutorials covering a technology application or technique.Press Monographs: Authoritative reference works, texts, and handbooks.Tutorial Texts: Works covering fundamental and emerging topics at introductory and intermediate levels.Field Guides: Concise quick-reference guides to key information that students, practicing engineers, and scientists need in the lab and in the field.
SpringerLink e-Books This link opens in a new window
e-Book collection of over 75,000 titles from Springer; most books can be downloaded in PDF format by chapter or book.
Taylor & Francis E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 3000 e-books from Taylor and Francis; items can be read online and downloaded in PDF format by chapter or full e-book.
De Gruyter Open Access eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 3000 Open Access e-books from De Gruyter Publishing.

Search Our Entire Collection

WPI Library Search This link opens in a new window
A powerful search tool to streamline your library research. Entering terms into a single search box yields results that include: books and e-books, research and news articles, project reports, electronic theses and dissertations, archival materials, patents, open access collections and more.
Full text: Yes

Open Access Collections with Full Text Searching

Visit the sites below for access to some free, or public domain eBooks, and some searchable eBooks that allow users to view snippets.

Europeana Collections
Explore 58,182,697 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books. Some public domain fulltext, some eBook snippets

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. WPI users have access to works in the public domain.

Search the Worcester Public Library's Collection

Digital Catalog: C/W Mars
Use your public library card to access even more eBooks

Restrictions on Use

Each eBook site has its own terms of use, membership agreement, etc., which you are expected to abide by if you use that site. Please look for links to the terms of use from the beginning page of each of the eBook sites.

Typically, you are allowed to download, view, save and/or print portions of eBooks, in reasonable quantity, for personal use, such as for study, research, or teaching.
With many vendors, you are not allowed to download entire books, or can only download the entire book for a limited time period.. The eBook sites monitor usage, looking especially for any that might be deemed excessive, and they will take steps to curb any usage that they see as excessive and outside the terms of the user agreements.
The library will cooperate with the eBook sites to curtail usage that falls outside the terms of the user agreements. If such usage continues, it could result in the termination of WPI's access.