Guides: HI 2341: “Furies from Hell” to “Femi-Nazis”: A History of Modern Anti-Feminism: Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

Suggested Databases for History

Use these databases to find journal articles, books, and book chapters on historical topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
Oxford Academic | Journals This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

To find more history databases and electronic resources, check out our History Databases.

Women's History and Feminism: Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals

Use BrowZine to find journals available at WPI.

Feminist Studies
Founded in 1972, Feminist Studies was the first scholarly journal in women’s studies and remains a flagship publication with a record of breaking new ground in the field. Whether drawing from the complex past or the shifting present, the pieces that appear in Feminist Studies raise social and political questions that intimately and significantly affect women and men around the world.
Feminist Theory
Feminist Theory is an international interdisciplinary journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.
Journal of Women’s History
The Journal of Women’s History is devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods.
Women’s History Review
Women’s History Review is an international journal whose aim is to provide a forum for the publication of new scholarly articles in the field of women’s history.

Examples of Journal Articles

Birth Control in the Shadow of Empire: The Trials of Annie Besant, 1877–1878
Sreenivas, Mytheli. “Birth Control in the Shadow of Empire: The Trials of Annie Besant, 1877–1878.” Feminist Studies 41, no. 3 (2015): 509–37. https://doi.org/10.15767/feministstudies.41.3.509.
Diane Abbott, misogynoir and the politics of Black British feminism’s anticolonial imperatives: "In Britain too, it’s as if we don’t exist"
Palmer, Lisa Amanda. “Diane Abbott, Misogynoir and the Politics of Black British Feminism’s Anticolonial Imperatives: ‘In Britain Too, It’s as If We Don’t Exist.’” The Sociological Review, December 6, 2019. https://doi.org/10.1177/0038026119892404.
Femi-Nazis and Bra Burning Crazies: A Qualitative Evaluation of Contemporary Beliefs about Feminism
Swirsky, Jill M., and D. J. Angelone. “Femi-Nazis and Bra Burning Crazies: A Qualitative Evaluation of Contemporary Beliefs about Feminism.” Current Psychology 33, no. 3 (September 2014): 229–45. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12144-014-9208-7.
Should Women Vote?
Ewing, E. Thomas, Heather L. Gumbert, David Hicks, Jane L. Lehr, Amy Nelson, and Robert P. Stephens. "Should Women Vote?" Journal of Women's History 20, no. 3 (2008): 144-165. https://doi.org/10.1353/jowh.0.0022.