Guides: HU 2502: Topics in Global Feminisms: Transnational Feminism: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

On this page, you will find:

Peer-Reviewed Articles in WPI Library Search

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Suggested Databases for Humanities Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
Oxford Academic | Journals This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access almost 1000 Sage journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1100 titles, many published on behalf of prestigious societies, organizations and associations such as: Association of American Geographers, American Planning Association, British Educational Research Association, and the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.
Coverage: 1997-Present
Full Text: Yes
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1200-
Full Text: No

Global Feminisms: Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals

Feminist Studies
Founded in 1972, Feminist Studies was the first scholarly journal in women’s studies and remains a flagship publication with a record of breaking new ground in the field. Whether drawing from the complex past or the shifting present, the pieces that appear in Feminist Studies raise social and political questions that intimately and significantly affect women and men around the world.
Feminist Theory
Feminist Theory is an international interdisciplinary journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.
Gender & Society
Gender & Society, the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, is a top-ranked journal in sociology and women's studies and publishes less than 10% of all papers submitted to it. Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal publishes empirical articles, along with reviews of books.
Gender, Work, & Organization
Gender, Work & Organization has published multi-disciplinary, high quality qualitative empirical research on gendered power relations and identities in the study of work and organization exploring issues of inclusion and exclusion. It has also published quantitative work guided by critical epistemologies on issues such as the gender pay gap, flexible work, career patterns, women on boards and access to leadership positions. Issues of critical importance as Gender, Work & Organization moves forward include feminist knowledge and practice, feminist philosophies and praxis, diversity, intersectionality, transnational, postcolonial, and decolonial feminisms, feminist ecology, postfeminist humanism/posthumanist feminism, embodiment, affect and organising, gendered power, resistance and activism, gender and global labour markets, critical analyses of neoliberalism, postfeminism, femininities and heroic versus post-heroic leadership approaches.
Journal of Bisexuality
The Journal of Bisexuality is the first professional quarterly to publish both professional articles and serious essays on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society.Sponsored by the American Institute of Bisexuality (AIB), the journal covers a wide range of topics on bisexuality including: new bisexual research; bisexual issues in therapy; differences from the heterosexual, lesbian and gay communities; growth of bisexual movement; bisexuality and the media; bisexual history; different bisexual lifestyles.
Journal of Women’s History
The Journal of Women’s History is devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods.
Sex Roles: A Journal of Research
Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses.
Sexualities
Sexualities is an established international journal and an invaluable resource, publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities. The journal adopts a broad, interdisciplinary perspective covering the whole of the social sciences, cultural history, cultural anthropology and social geography, as well as feminism, gender studies, cultural studies and lesbian and gay studies.
Women’s History Review
Women’s History Review is an international journal whose aim is to provide a forum for the publication of new scholarly articles in the field of women’s history.
More Journals on Ethnic, Race, and Gender Studies

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a current awareness service (accessible via laptop, desktop, and mobile devices) that lets you browse, read, and monitor your favorite scholarly journals. It's available to all WPI faculty, staff, and students. You can: Create your own Bookshelf or virtual "reading room" of your favorite scholarly journals, which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com) and mobile devices. Receive alerts on your mobile devices when new issues (AND articles in press) are published, and browse the articles for ones you want to read. You can also export the citations to EndNote, Zotero or Mendeley. Save articles (also synced across devices), and group them into collections. From your tablet or phone you can download articles to read offline and export the PDFs to other apps on your device like DropBox, EndNote, Google Drive, and more.
From your mobile device, download the BrowZine app and install it. When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools. Please select Worcester Polytechnic Institute; then, enter your ID and Password. Enter a search or select a subject area and start browsing!

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.

Is the journal online or here in the library? Search our J ournals.
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one.