What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?
A peer-reviewed journal is a special type of publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication.
Considered the most respected, researchers wish to have their works published in them. Many often have low acceptance rates.
To find peer reviewed articles, type your keywords into WPI Library Search, and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.
Databases:
Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder 
link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.
Is the journal online or here in the library? Search our Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers list
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.