Guides: HU3900: Integrating the Humanities in STEM Education : Research Activity

Research Activity

Research Activity:

Work with your groups.
Choose one of the following databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts on educational topics. Maintained by the Education Resources Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Full text non-journal documents issued 1993+ are available free.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Coverage: 1884-

With your group, search for a source (such as a journal article, book, book chapter, conference paper, etc.) related to your research topic.
Keep track of your research process: What keywords did you use? What search filters did you use?
Find a source that seems relevant to your topic. Identify the citation pieces for that source. (If the source you are citing does not have one of the pieces of information listed below, leave it blank and move on to the next piece on the list.)
- Author.
- Title of source.
- Title of container,
- Other contributors,
- Version,
- Number,
- Publisher,
- Publication date,
- Location.
Source evaluation: Why do you consider this source to be credible?
Be prepared to describe your research process and your source evaluation to the class.

HU3900 Humanities in STEM Education Research Worksheet