Guides: HU 3900: Oceans: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

On this page, you will find:

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

Peer-Reviewed Articles in WPI Library Search

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Suggested Databases for History

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
Oxford Academic | Journals This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access almost 1000 Sage journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1100 titles, many published on behalf of prestigious societies, organizations and associations such as: Association of American Geographers, American Planning Association, British Educational Research Association, and the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.
Coverage: 1997-Present
Full Text: Yes
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1200-
Full Text: No

Selected Journals

Examples of peer-reviewed journals with a focus on maritime history and maritime studies:

International Journal of Maritime History
The International Journal of Maritime History (IJMH) is the journal of the International Maritime Economic History Association. The IJMH is a fully-refereed, quarterly publication which addresses the maritime dimensions of economic, social, cultural, and environmental history. Truly international in scope, the IJMH publishes studies of a multidisciplinary nature on a broad range of maritime historical themes, including shipping, shipbuilding, seafaring, ports, resorts and other coastal communities, sea-borne trade, fishing, environment and the culture of the sea.
Journal for Maritime Research
The Journal for Maritime Research (JMR), established by the National Maritime Museum in 1999, focuses on historical enquiry at the intersections of maritime, British and global history. It champions a wide spectrum of innovative research on the maritime past. While the Journal has a particular focus on the British experience, it positions this within broad oceanic and international contexts, encouraging comparative perspectives and interdisciplinary approaches.
Journal of Maritime Archaeology
Journal of Maritime Archaeology is the first international journal to address all aspects of maritime archaeology, both terrestrial and under water. It encompasses theory, practice and analysis relating to sites, technology, landscape, structure, and issues of heritage management. The Journal provides a conduit for maritime approaches reaching across archaeology and related disciplines such as cultural geography, history, ethnography, oceanography and anthropology. In so doing the journal addresses all aspects of the human past relating to maritime environments.
Maritime Studies
Maritime Studies (or MAST) is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal devoted to maritime issues and is a sequel to Maritime Anthropological Studies, which appeared between 1988 and 1993. MAST has a social science focus, but functions as a platform for scholars from a broad range of disciplines who are engaged in research on maritime and coastal matters, from an academic or applied point of view.
The Mariner's Mirror
Publishes international research on maritime and naval history, including nautical research, seafaring, shipbuilding, language and customs of the sea.

Links for finding additional journals on history:

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a current awareness service (accessible via laptop, desktop, and mobile devices) that lets you browse, read, and monitor your favorite scholarly journals. It's available to all WPI faculty, staff, and students. You can: Create your own Bookshelf or virtual "reading room" of your favorite scholarly journals, which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com) and mobile devices. Receive alerts on your mobile devices when new issues (AND articles in press) are published, and browse the articles for ones you want to read. You can also export the citations to EndNote, Zotero or Mendeley. Save articles (also synced across devices), and group them into collections. From your tablet or phone you can download articles to read offline and export the PDFs to other apps on your device like DropBox, EndNote, Google Drive, and more.
From your mobile device, download the BrowZine app and install it. When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools. Please select Worcester Polytechnic Institute; then, enter your ID and Password. Enter a search or select a subject area and start browsing!

Examples of Journal Articles

Collecting the Sea Shanty: British Maritime Identity and Atlantic Musical Cultures in the Early Twentieth Century
Milne, Graeme J. “Collecting the Sea Shanty: British Maritime Identity and Atlantic Musical Cultures in the Early Twentieth Century.” International Journal of Maritime History 29, no. 2 (May 1, 2017): 370–86. https://doi.org/10.1177/0843871417693997.
Curating Collapse: Performing Maritime Cultural Heritage in Iceland’s Museums and Tours
Antonova, Anna S., and Alison Rieser. “Curating Collapse: Performing Maritime Cultural Heritage in Iceland’s Museums and Tours.” Maritime Studies 18, no. 1 (April 2019): 103–14. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40152-018-0128-2.
Nostalgia and Imagination in Nineteenth-Century Sea Shanties
Rose, Kelby. “Nostalgia and Imagination in Nineteenth-Century Sea Shanties.” The Mariner’s Mirror 98, no. 2 (January 1, 2012): 147–60. https://doi.org/10.1080/00253359.2012.10708990.
Pearl and Mother of Pearl in Hispania: Exploitation and Trade of Marine Luxury Products
Bustamante-Álvarez, Macarena, Darío Bernal-Casasola, and María Ángeles Castellano-Hernández. “Pearl and Mother of Pearl in Hispania: Exploitation and Trade of Marine Luxury Products.” Journal of Maritime Archaeology 16 (2021): 133-162. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11457-021-09290-4.
‘As Pretty a Thing as I Have Ever Seen’: Animal Encounters and Atlantic Voyages, 1750–1850
McAleer, John. “‘As Pretty a Thing as I Have Ever Seen’: Animal Encounters and Atlantic Voyages, 1750–1850.” Journal for Maritime Research 22, no. 1–2 (July 2, 2020): 5–23. https://doi.org/10.1080/21533369.2020.1827789.

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Not seeing the full text of an article in one of the library's databases? Click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.
Is the journal available through the WPI Library? Search for it in Browzine.
Request delivery of the article from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.