What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?
A peer-reviewed journal is a special type of publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication.
Considered the most respected, researchers wish to have their works published in them. Many often have low acceptance rates.
To find peer reviewed articles, type your keywords into WPI Library Search, and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.
Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder (
) link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.
Does WPI Library subscribe to the journal? Search our eJournals collection.
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
In addition to WPI Library Search, you can find peer-reviewed articles in our discipline-specific databases. Here are some recommended databases for this course:
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting religion and philosophy. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.