Film Studies: Starting Research

On this page you will find:

• Find Background Information
• Online Reference Sources
• Reference Source Examples
• Recommended Search Tips
• Advanced Search Strategies
• Key Topic Areas and Keyword Examples

Find Background Information

When starting a new research project, figuring out where to begin and how to narrow down your topic can be difficult. It is helpful to start by looking for background information on your topic. Even if your topic is still broad, try looking for background information by searching in online encyclopedias or by doing a general Google search. Use these sources to find subtopics and relevant vocabulary associated with your topic. This new vocabulary will help you with your keyword searches. 

Typically, you will not cite encyclopedias in an academic project. Encyclopedias can be helpful for sparking ideas and finding important concepts that you will then find more information on in academic sources, such as peer-reviewed journal articles and books written by scholars. 

1.  Keyword searching:

   1. Identify your topic’s key concepts. Do some background research in online encyclopedias. These are not sources that you will cite in your paper but they can provide useful information to help you identify concepts and keywords related to your research topic.

   2. Brainstorm synonyms for your keywords: Search for synonyms for your keywords and concepts to increase the number of relevant search results.

   3. In database search results, look at the article titles and abstracts in your search results to find additional keywords to search for.

   4. Read! The more you read about your topic, the more you'll pick up on the jargon used in that field, which will help you to refine your searches and find relevant sources faster.

2. Search filters:

   1. When searching in databases, use search filters on the search results page to narrow down your search. Some of the most common filters are:

      1. Publication Date

      2. Source Format/Resource Type (book, journal, video, etc.)

      3. Subject 

      4. Peer-reviewed/Academic Journal

3. Get the full text of a source:

   1. Some of the library's databases only provide abstracts for sources. Look for the FullTextFinder icon on the search results page. If you only have the summary/abstract of an article, click on the FullTextFinder to search all 200+ library databases for the full-text.

   2. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Submit an ILL request to get full-text journal articles, books and book chapters that are not available through the Gordon Library. ILL is a service that allows you to request these materials, and library staff will try to get these materials for you from another library. 

4. Often finding one helpful source can lead you to more:

   1. Check bibliographies for additional relevant sources.

   2. Some databases provide “cited by” links for articles - these links help you find sources that have cited an article and built on the authors' research.

   3. Some databases provide “related articles” links to connect you to articles on similar topics. 

5. Evaluate your sources

   1. What are the author’s credentials? What is the reputation of the organization behind the source? When was the source published? How did the authors gather their data and derive their conclusions? What do other sources say about this topic?

Questions? Ask a librarian!  

Librarians are here to help you with your research. Reach out to the library via chat, email, or by requesting a research consultation: https://libguides.wpi.edu/AskUs 

Use these search terms to narrow or broaden your search. These search terms work in WPI Library Search and in most of the library's databases. 

Below are examples of different keywords and topic areas that you will find in film studies. Use different combinations of keywords that you identify in examining your topic's concepts. 

Topic Areas

• Animation
• Film Theory, methodology and aesthetics
• Filmmaking and production
• Genres
• Styles
• History of film
• International cinema
• Music and sound
• Literature and film
• Themes 
• Aspects of filmmaking - social, political, etc.

Keyword Examples

• Film noir AND criticism
• Film design
• Film genres
• Film style
• Mise en scene
• "Motion pictures" AND style
• "Motion pictures" AND music OR sound
• Motion pictures AND gender
• Motion pictures setting OR scenery
• Motion pictures directors Spielberg AND criticism
• Hollywood and motion pictures and history
• Documentary films history and criticism