Books are important sources of historical scholarship. To find books at the Gordon Library:
Ebooks: Many of Gordon Library's books are available digitally, and you can access these via the links in WPI Library Search. For example:
Print books: Print books in the library are organized by call number. When you find a print book in the WPI Library Search, look for the book's call number:
Gordon Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. Call numbers A-N are on the ground floor of the library. Call numbers P-Z are on the 1st floor. (Please note that the main entrance to the library is on the 2nd floor.)
You can check books out at the information services desk on the main floor. Your WPI ID is your library card.
The ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection (ACLS HEB) presents thousands of foundational books in the humanities and social sciences from hundreds of publishers, with 150-200 new titles added annually. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion.
200,000+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics, Computers, Technology & Engineering, Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences. For help using Ebook Central: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
>>In case of difficulty, try clearing your browser's cache.<<
Search and browse 12,000 full text eBooks.
Search Gale eBook reference content such as Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Major Acts of Congress, Encyclopedia of Bioethics and 20+ other titles. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
HathiTrust offers a collection of over 18 million titles digitized from libraries around the world - the largest digitized collection of knowledge allowable by copyright law. Not all items are available for access, due to copyright restrictions. WPI users have access to works in the public domain.
Browsable collection of e-books from JSTOR. Downloadable PDFs available at the chapter level.
Is there something you need that the WPI library doesn't have? Our Interlibrary Loan service allows WPI students and faculty to request items from other libraries free of charge.
Search in WorldCat to find books available at other libraries:
Catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide.
Thinking Media Aesthetics by
Thinking Media Aesthetics. Media Studies, Film Studies and the Arts brings together contributions from different disciplines from both sides of the Atlantic and from several generations. The book investigates the field between media studies, film and the arts and attempts to consolidate the fruitful interaction we have witnessed between the disciplines during the last decade into a focused interdisciplinary program that combines theoretical argumentation with exemplification and analysis of individual artworks and media phenomena.
Film Theory by
Fully updated and expanded throughout, this second edition of Film Theory: The Basics provides an accessible introduction to the key theorists, concepts, and debates that have shaped the study of moving images. The book examines film theory from its emergence in the early twentieth century to its study in the present day, and explores why film has drawn special attention as a medium, as a form of representation, and as a focal point in the rise of modern visual culture. It also emphasizes how film theory has developed as a historically contingent discourse, one that has evolved and changed in conjunction with different social, political, and intellectual factors. This second edition offers a detailed account of new theoretical directions at the forefront of film studies in the twenty-first century, and draws additional attention to how theory engages with today's most pressing questions about digital technologies, the environment, and racial justice. Complete with questions for discussion and a glossary of both key terms and key theorists, this book in an invaluable resource for those new to film theory and for anyone else interested in the history and significance of critical thinking in relation to the moving image.
Cinematography: Theory and Practice by
There's more to being a DP than holding a light meter! With this book as your guide, you are on your way to learning not only about the equipment and technology, but also about the concepts and thought processes that will enable you to shoot professionally, efficiently, and with artistic mastery. A leading book in the field, Cinematography has been translated into many languages and is a staple at the world's top film schools. Lavishly produced and illustrated, it covers the entire range of the profession. The book is not just a comprehensive guide to current professional practice; it goes beyond to explain the theory behind the practice, so you understand how the rules came about and when it's appropriate to break them. In addition, directors will benefit from the book's focus on the body of knowledge they should share with their Director of Photography. Cinematographypresents the basics and beyond, employing clear explanations of standard practice together with substantial illustrations and diagrams to reveal the real world of film production. Recognizing that professionals know when to break the rules and when to abide by them, this book discusses many examples of fresh ideas and experiments in cinematography. Covering the most up-to-date information on the film/digital interface, new formats, the latest cranes and camera support and other equipment, it also illustrates the classic tried and true methods. New! A DVD and website includes video footage, offering key instruction in topics such as camera basics and essentials, lighting, shooting methods, and much more. Topics include: . Concepts of filmmaking . Language of the lens . Cinematic continuity . Lighting for film, digital, and HD . Exposure . HD cinematography and shooting . Shooting in HD . Image control and filters . Bleach bypass processes . Lighting as storytelling . Shooting special effects . Set procedures and other issues The DVD files are also available at http://www.taylorandfrancis.com/cw/brown-9780240812090/.
Technè/Technology by
Techne;/Technology offers a penetrating, close look at the origins of the term techne;, which unleashed a revolution in cinema and media studies when it was first introduced and which continues to influence the study of film as the digital revolution rolls along. The contributors investigate the effects of technologies on major film debates and, moreover, how technologies have affected film theory and its key concepts.
Audio Technology, Music, and Media by
This book provides a true A to Z of recorded sound, from its inception to the present day, outlining how technologies, techniques, and social attitudes have changed things, noting what is good and what is less good. The author starts by discussing the physics of sound generation and propagation. He then moves on to outline the history of recorded sound and early techniques and technologies, such as the rise of multi-channel tape recorders and their impact on recorded sound. He goes on to debate live sound versus recorded sound and why there is a difference, particularly with classical music. Other topics covered are the sound of real instruments and how that sound is produced and how to record it; microphone techniques and true stereo sound; digital workstations, sampling, and digital media; and music reproduction in the home and how it has changed. The author wraps up the book by discussing where we should be headed for both popular and classical music recording and reproduction, the role of the Audio Engineer in the 21st century, and a brief look at technology today and where it is headed. This book is ideal for anyone interested in recorded sound. "[Julian Ashbourn] strives for perfection and reaches it through his recordings... His deep knowledge of both technology and music is extensive and it is with great pleasure that I see he is passing this on for the benefit of others. I have no doubt that this book will be highly valued by many in the music industry, as it will be by me." -- Claudio Di Meo, Composer, Pianist and Principal Conductor of The Kensington Philharmonic Orchestra, The Hemel Symphony Orchestra and The Lumina Choir
Screenwriting by
Screenwriters often joke that "no one ever paid a dollar at a movie theater to watch a screenplay." Yet the screenplay is where a movie begins, determining whether a production gets the "green light" from its financial backers and wins approval from its audience. This innovative volume gives readers a comprehensive portrait of the art and business of screenwriting, while showing how the role of the screenwriter has evolved over the years. Reaching back to the early days of Hollywood, when moonlighting novelists, playwrights, and journalists were first hired to write scenarios and photoplays, Screenwriting illuminates the profound ways that screenwriters have contributed to the films we love. This book explores the social, political, and economic implications of the changing craft of American screenwriting from the silent screen through the classical Hollywood years, the rise of independent cinema, and on to the contemporary global multi-media marketplace. From The Birth of a Nation (1915), Gone With the Wind (1939), and Gentleman's Agreement (1947) to Chinatown (1974), American Beauty (1999), and Lost in Translation (2003), each project began as writers with pen and ink, typewriters, or computers captured the hopes and dreams, the nightmares and concerns of the periods in which they were writing. As the contributors take us behind the silver screen to chronicle the history of screenwriting, they spotlight a range of key screenplays that changed the game in Hollywood and beyond. With original essays from both distinguished film scholars and accomplished screenwriters, Screenwriting is sure to fascinate anyone with an interest in Hollywood, from movie buffs to industry professionals.
FilmCraft: Screenwriting by
Screenwriting looks at the foundation on which every great film is built¿the script. Whether an original concept or an adaptation, the screenplay is the key to the success of a movie¿good dialogue, story pacing, and character development are the framework everything else hangs on. Featuring in-depth interviews with modern masters of film including Stephen Gaghan, Guillermo Arriaga, Caroline Thompson, Hossein Amini, and Jean-Claude Carri¿, this book reveals the mysteries behind how the best scripts are written and reach the screen.
Inclusive Screenwriting for Film and Television by
* Approaches the practice of screenwriting from an intersectional and inclusive perspective. * Offers practical ways in which screenwriters can approach their craft to tell stories of under-represented individuals in an authentic way. * Includes examples from Killing Eve, Pose, Sense8, Vida, and I May Destroy You to illustrate inclusive screenwriting.
The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production by
This expanded, updated, and revised third edition of Lorene Wales' The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production offers a comprehensive introduction to the positions/roles, procedures, and logistics of the film and digital video production process, from development and pre-production all the way to marketing and distribution. Lorene Wales offers a hands-on approach suitable for projects of any budget and scale, explaining every stage and key role/position in the life of a film and providing a wealth of sample checklists, schedules, accounting paperwork, and downloadable forms and templates for practical use. Other topics include a description of the latest mobile apps used in production, tax incentives, the DIT, set safety, and an expanded chapter on copyright, fair use and other legal matters. A companion website includes video tutorials, a personnel hierarchy, a guide to mobile apps useful during production, PowerPoints for instructor use, and a complete set of sample production forms and templates for download, including schedules, accounting paperwork, releases, and production checklists.
The Complete Film Production Handbook by
This book is for working film/TV professionals and students alike. If you're a line producer, production manager, production supervisor, assistant director or production coordinator--the book has everything you'll need (including all the forms, contracts, releases and checklists) to set up and run a production--from finding a production office to turning over delivery elements. Even if you know what you're doing, you will be thrilled to find everything you need in one place. If you're not already working in film production, but think you'd like to be, read the book -- and then decide. If you choose to pursue this career path, you'll know what to expect, you'll be prepared, and you'll be ten steps ahead of everyone else just starting out. New topics and information in the fourth edition include: * Low-budget independent films, including documentaries and shorts * Information specific to television production and commercials * The industry's commitment to go green and how to do it * Coverage of new travel and shipping regulations * Updated information on scheduling, budgeting, deal memos, music clearances, communications, digital production, and new forms throughout *Supplementary material and sample forms available at www.focalpress.com/9780240811505
Film and Video Production in the Cloud by
With cloud applications and services now widely available, film and video professionals have all the tools they need to work together on centralized platforms and effectively collaborate across separate desktop, web, and mobile devices. In Film and Video Production in the Cloud, veteran video production consultant Jack James provides a practical guide to cloud processes, concepts, and workflows as they relate to the most widely used cloud applications in the industry. Topics discussed include the benefits of cloud storage, cloud-based production and postproduction pipelines, project and asset management, distribution and archiving, budget and security considerations, and crowdsourcing. This book will allow readers to: * Harness cloud-based tools and processes to enhance your film and video production pipeline and help your creative team collaborate effectively across separate desktop, web, and mobile devices; * Discover the benefits of cloud-based film and video production, as well as key approaches to budgeting and planning, project and asset management, distribution and archiving, security considerations, and crowdsourcing in the cloud; * Learn how to apply fundamental cloud methodologies and best practices to the most widely used cloud services and applications in the industry, including Adobe Creative Cloud, Autodesk A360, Avid Media Composer Cloud, Asana, Basecamp, and Shotgun.
Film and Video Editing Theory by
Film and Video Editing Theory offers an accessible, introductory guide to the practices used to create meaning through editing. In this book, Michael Frierson synthesizes the theories of the most prominent film editors and scholars, from Herbert Zettl, Sergei Eisenstein, and Noël Burch to the work of landmark Hollywood editors like Walter Murch and Edward Dmytryk. In so doing, he maps out a set of craft principles for readers, whether one is debating if a flashback reveals too much, if a certain cut clarifies or obscures the space of a scene, or if a shot needs to be trimmed. The book is grounded in the unity of theory and practice, looking beyond technical proficiency in a specific software to explain to readers how and why certain cuts work or don't work.
Cutting Rhythms by
There are many books on the technical aspects of film and video editing. Much rarer are books on how editors think and make creative decisions. Filled with timeless principles and thought-provoking examples from a variety of international films, the second edition of Karen Pearlman's Cutting Rhythms offers an in-depth study of the film editor's rhythmic creativity and intuition, the processes and tools editors use to shape rhythms, and how rhythm works to engage audiences in film. While respecting the importance of intuitive flow in the cutting room, this book offers processes for understanding what editing intuition is and how to develop it. This fully revised and updated edition contains: New chapters on collaboration and "editing thinking"; Advice on making onscreen drafts before finalizing your story Tips on how to create and sustain audience empathy and engagement; Explanations of how rhythm is perceived, learned, practiced and applied in editing; Updated discussions of intuition, structure and dynamics; An all-new companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/pearlman) with video examples and links for expanding and illustrating the principles of key chapters in the book.
