Guides: Art History: Online Art Images

JSTOR: Images

JSTOR Images

Use JSTOR Images to browse and search for art from around the world.

JSTOR Images

Images on JSTOR are divided into 16 classification terms. (Images characterized by more than one term will appear in multiple classification groups.) Under each classification below, use the filters on the left in JSTOR to further narrow down your search. Not every image in this database may be considered art, so use the filters and search by keyword to find relevant images.

You can also search JSTOR Images by geographic location.

JSTOR Images: Geography

Websites for Finding Art Images

Art Museum Websites

Many museum websites provide online images of the works in their collections. Here are some examples:

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
Explore over 30 centuries of design online, from ancient Roman marble to Pre-Columbian textiles, Renaissance drawings, contemporary 3D-printed chairs, and digital code.
Getty (Los Angeles, CA)
Search the Getty's collection. Browse by era or by department.
Harvard Art Museums (Cambridge, MA)
The Harvard Art Museums—the Fogg Museum, Busch-Reisinger Museum, and Arthur M. Sackler Museum—strive to advance the understanding and appreciation of art. Search 240,296 works from the museums' collections.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, NY)
The Met Collection: Explore more than 490,000 works—from around the world and throughout history—and the research and conversations they inspire.
MoMA (Museum of Modern Art, New York, NY)
Our evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 97,000 works are currently available online.
Museum of Fine Arts (Boston, MA)
The MFA is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world with a collection that encompasses nearly 500,000 works of art.
National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC)
Study the details of your favorite works or find something you’ve never seen before. Discover new artists—or new genres—and stay up to date on the nation’s collection.
Worcester Art Museum (Worcester, MA)
In the Worcester Art Museum Collections Search you will find a large and growing selection of objects from the Museum's encyclopedic holdings, from ancient cultures through modern and contemporary art, including many works rarely on view.

Additional Online Collections

Google Arts & Culture
Explore collections from museums and cultural institutions from around the world on Google Arts & Culture.

The Harbor

by Josef Presser, ca. 1943

Public Domain

Available for viewing online at JSTOR Images and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Standing Buddha

ca. 8th Century, Korea

Public Domain

Available for viewing online at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.