Skip to Main Content

Gordon Library Video Tutorial Suite (Faculty, Instructional Staff, & Students): Research Strategies

The following guide provides an overview of current video tutorial offerings from the Gordon Library.

Overview

The following series of video tutorials provide in-depth overviews of the research process, finding academic sources, and evaluating those sources for appropriateness.

Additionally, this guide provides instructors with direct links and embed codes to conveniently upload videos in Canvas or accompanying course sites, as well as PDF versions of tutorial scripts. 

IQP Research Guide Overview

Locating Relevant Databases for Research

Peer Review Overview

Finding Full Text Resources

Developing Keywords for Research

IQP Research Guide Overview Tutorial Features:

Run Time: 2:39

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • IQP Research Needs (0:15)
  • Locating the IQP/ Library Research Guide (0:31)
  • Overview of Guide Features (0:47)

 

 

Cut and paste the following link into your browser: 

 

https://youtu.be/0UU6wERHfDA

 

Cut and paste the following line into your Learning Management System (LMS):

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0UU6wERHfDA" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

Locating Relevant Databases for Research Tutorial Features:

Run Time: 2:27

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Understanding Relevance in Relation to Research Needs (0:21)
  • Understanding Databases (0:46)
  • Locating Databases (1:04)
  • Search Databases A-Z (1:04)
  • Search Databases by Subject (1:33)
  • Search Databases by Type of Resource (2:09)

Cut and paste the following link into your browser: 

 

https://youtu.be/EtmHr93dVOE

 

Cut and paste the following line into your Learning Management System (LMS):

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EtmHr93dVOE" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

Peer Review Overview Tutorial Features:

Run Time: 2:52

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • What is Peer-Review? (0:10)
  • The Impact of Peer-Review Processes (0:50)
  • The Peer-Review Process (1:39)
  • Locating Peer-Reviewed Articles via the Gordon Library (2:25)

 

Cut and paste the following link into your browser: 

 

https://youtu.be/BlVHcfkuJJA

 

Cut and paste the following line into your Learning Management System (LMS):

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/BlVHcfkuJJA" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

 

Finding Full Text Resources Tutorial Features:

Run Time: 2:55

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Why Search for Full-Text Articles? (0:30)
  • Sample Full-Text Search via SCOPUS (0:52)
  • Sample Search w/ Strategies (1:18)
  • Search Tips (1:27- 2:06)
  • Filters (2:10)

Cut and paste the following link into your browser: 

 

https://youtu.be/etMg052_7pY

 

Cut and paste the following line into your Learning Management System (LMS):

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/etMg052_7pY" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

 

Developing Keywords for Research Tutorial Features:

Run Time: 2:44

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • What are Keywords? (0:22)
  • Sample--Generating Keywords (0:38)
  • Effectively Using Keywords (0:53)
  • Using a Thesaurus (1:34)
  • Refining Search Results (1:48)
  • Evaluating a Library Record (2:10)

 

Cut and paste the following link into your browser: 

 

https://youtu.be/iQnO42wnRiU

 

Cut and paste the following line into your Learning Management System (LMS):

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/iQnO42wnRiU" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>