Fire Protection Engineering: Fire Related Institutions/Organizations

ATF is a unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.

Fire Research Notes are the comprehensive record of research conducted by the UK Fire Research Station (FRS) from 1952 to 1978 on all aspects of fire and explosion safety. There are over one thousand FR Notes available here in full text.

The focus of the Bushfire and Natural Hazards CRC reflects the impact of natural hazards on the Australian community and the need for emergency services, land managers, all levels of government and the private sector to understand a range of hazards more thoroughly.

The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) is the national government body for scientific research in Australia.

Free public access to over 266,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.

Learning Center of the U.S. Fire Administration (USFA).

The Fire ReSearch Engine is a product of the International Association for Fire Safety Science, and was developed to consolidate and search many relevant fire science publication databases

In order to develop effective fire protection and suppression capabilities, FM Global has established an extensive research program dedicated to the prediction of fire growth and suppression behavior. Working within the framework of physics-based fire modeling, accurate and robust simulations that combine experimental and numerical efforts in the areas of fire growth, material flammability and fire suppression may be created.

IAFSS was founded with the primary objective of encouraging research into the science of preventing and mitigating the adverse effects of fires and of providing a forum for presenting the results of such research.

Research from Loughborough University - includes FPE-related materials

The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA, is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.
The world's leading advocate of fire prevention and an authoritative source on public safety, NFPA develops, publishes, and disseminates more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks.

NRC-IRC's Fire Research program develops methods and technologies for improving the fire safety design of buildings and transportation systems, enhancing fire detection and suppression systems, and reducing the risks and costs of fire in Canada. Includes a link to search publications, many of which are available as full text.

The mission of the building and fire research programs at NIST is to anticipate and meet the measurement science, standards, and technology needs of the U.S. building and fire safety industries in areas of critical national need.

Purpose of the Society is to advance the science and practice of fire protection engineering and its allied fields, to maintain a high ethical standard among its members and to foster fire protection engineering education.

Fire protection materials in the TNO Repository

As an entity of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.