Guides: Assessing Research Impact: Databases with Citation Analytics

Need Help? Ask Us!

This service is staffed by WPI librarians and staff. If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/

General Databases with Bibliometric Data

Gordon Library provides access to Scopus (Elsevier), one of the premier subscription tools for discovering who has cited papers and authors across publishers. Google Scholar,Publons, and Dimensions are free tools that cover cross-publisher citation analytics.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
SciVal This link opens in a new window
SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 7,500 research institutions and 220 nations worldwide. A ready-to-use solution with unparalleled power and flexibility, SciVal enables you to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyze research trends.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

Publons
Use Publons to track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-to-maintain profile.
Dimensions
Dimensions contains more than 100 million publications, ranging from articles published in scholarly journals, books and book chapters, to preprints and conference proceedings. All publications are contextualized with linked data sets, funding, publications, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents. You can also view associated categories, funders, institutions, and researcher profiles – freely available for personal, non-commercial use