Look for background information about your research topic in encyclopedias and biographies. Reading background information about your research topic helps you to find subtopics and to narrow down what you want to write about. Background sources can also help you learn the vocabulary used to describe your topic. This new vocabulary will help you with your keyword searches.
Biographical information on people from throughout history. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.
Electronic version of the twenty-volume The Oxford English Dictionary, Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more. Academic Video Online: Premium covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in: Anthropology; Counseling & Therapy; Art, Fashion & Design; Business & Economics; Diversity Studies; Documentary Film; Feature Film; Education; History; Music & Dance; News & Current Events; Theatre & Drama. It also provides content in nursing; allied health; criminal justice; engineering; and science.