Guides: EN 3225: Shakespeare in Performance: Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Recommended Journals

Shakespeare Newsletter
A bi-annual publication, the Shakespeare Newsletter includes brief book and theater reviews, peer-reviewed critical essays, and interviews to highlight recent trends in scholarship, education and the performing arts.
Shakespeare Quarterly - JSTOR 1950 - 2014
Shakespeare Quarterly is a leading journal in Shakespeare studies, publishing highly original, rigorously researched essays, notes, and book reviews. Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by the Oxford University Press, SQ is peer-reviewed and extremely selective. The database JSTOR provides access to Shakespeare Quarterly issues from 1950 to 2014.
Shakespeare Quarterly - Project MUSE 2001 - Present
Shakespeare Quarterly is a leading journal in Shakespeare studies, publishing highly original, rigorously researched essays, notes, and book reviews. Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by the Oxford University Press, SQ is peer-reviewed and extremely selective. The database JSTOR provides access to Shakespeare Quarterly issues from 2011 to the present.
Shakespeare Studies
Shakespeare Studies is a peer-reviewed volume published annually in hard cover featuring the work of performance scholars, literary critics and cultural historians across the globe. The journal focuses attention primarily on Shakespeare and his contemporaries, but embraces theoretical and historical studies of socio-political, intellectual and artistic contexts that extend well beyond the early modern English theatrical milieu in both space and time. In addition to articles, Shakespeare Studies offers unique opportunities for extended intellectual exchange through its thematically-focused forums, and includes substantial reviews of significant publications.
Shakespeare Bulletin
Shakespeare Bulletin is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal which publishes articles at the cutting edge of Shakespearean and early modern performance studies and theatre history. Since its early days as the publication of the New York Shakespeare Society in 1980 and its incorporation of the Shakespeare on Film Newsletter in 1992, Shakespeare Bulletin has grown into the leading journal of early modern performance studies. It is a distinguishing feature of this journal that it welcomes scholarship on the full range of plays not only by Shakespeare but also by other early modern dramatists from the mid-sixteenth century to the Interregnum. The journal also publishes theatre, film and book reviews, providing a record of performance and scholarship in a variety of media throughout the world.

Find more journals in BrowZine.

Databases

Recommended Databases for finding peer-reviewed articles on Shakespeare and his plays:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes

Additional Databases:

Filter & Follow Up

Scan results: Use subject headings, keywords, and phrases from your search results to refine your keyword searches.
Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title.
Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies.
Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well.
Find an interesting author? Search for more articles by that author.
Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.