Journal Articles - HI 2320: Intro to Modern European History - Prof. Emily Gioielli - Guides at Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

Peer-reviewed articles are typically substantial in length (often 10 pages or more) and typically have many citations.

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals for Modern European History

Central European History
Published since 1968, Central European History is the primary venue for scholarly exchange and debate of central Europe’s diverse and complex history. The journal publishes on a range of topics, bringing research articles, book and film reviews and review essays, discussion fora, and other forms of scholarly writing to a broad audience of specialists and non-specialists in four issues per year. Spanning the medieval to the modern period, CEH offers a space for creative approaches to understanding the region’s past, while continually reassessing its conceptual and geographic boundaries and their representations.
Cold War History
Publishes historical literature on the Cold War era, its origins, impact on regions and alliances, the military, economy and social and intellectual growths.
Contemporary British History
Publishes articles and review essays on British society, culture, politics, foreign policy and economy in the recent past, particularly the period since 1945.
Contemporary European History
Contemporary European History covers the history of Eastern and Western Europe, including the United Kingdom, from 1914 to the present. By combining a wide geographical compass with a relatively short time span, the journal achieves both range and depth in its coverage. It is open to all forms of historical inquiry - including cultural, economic, international, political and social approaches - and welcomes comparative and transnational analysis.
European History Quarterly
European History Quarterly (EHQ) is a quarterly peer reviewed journal which publishes articles by eminent historians on a range of subjects from the later Middle Ages to post-1945.
French Historical Studies
French Historical Studies publishes articles and commentaries on all periods of French history from the Middle Ages to the present.
German History
German History covers all periods of German history and all German-speaking areas. Issues contain refereed articles and book reviews on various aspects of the history of the German-speaking world, as well as discussion fora, reflections and review essays.
Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History
A leading journal of Russian and Eurasian history and culture, Kritika is dedicated to internationalizing the field and making it relevant to a broad interdisciplinary audience. The journal regularly publishes forums, discussions, and special issues; it regularly translates important works by Russian and European scholars into English; and it publishes in every issue in-depth, lengthy review articles, review essays, and reviews of Russian, Eurasian, and European works that are rarely, if ever, reviewed in North American Russian studies journals.
Slavonic and East European Review
An international, peer-reviewed quarterly, SEER publishes scholarly articles on all subjects related to Russia, Central and Eastern Europe — languages & linguistics, literature, art, cinema, theatre, music, history, politics, social sciences, economics, anthropology — as well as reviews of new books in the field.
Twentieth Century British History
Twentieth Century British History publishes outstanding work on all aspects of the history of Britain and the British world during the long-twentieth century. More than a record of specialized research, the journal places recent British history in conversation with the largest issues animating the historical discipline.
More journals on European History
More journals of Russian and Eastern European History
More journals on Modern History

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a current awareness service (accessible via laptop, desktop, and mobile devices) that lets you browse, read, and monitor your favorite scholarly journals. It's available to all WPI faculty, staff, and students. You can: Create your own Bookshelf or virtual "reading room" of your favorite scholarly journals, which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com) and mobile devices. Receive alerts on your mobile devices when new issues (AND articles in press) are published, and browse the articles for ones you want to read. You can also export the citations to EndNote, Zotero or Mendeley. Save articles (also synced across devices), and group them into collections. From your tablet or phone you can download articles to read offline and export the PDFs to other apps on your device like DropBox, EndNote, Google Drive, and more.
From your mobile device, download the BrowZine app and install it. When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools. Please select Worcester Polytechnic Institute; then, enter your ID and Password. Enter a search or select a subject area and start browsing!

Suggested Databases for History

Use these databases to find journal articles, books, and book chapters on historical topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical abstracts of global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1886-
Full Text: No
Oxford Academic | Journals This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

To find more history databases and electronic resources, check out our History Databases.

Examples of Journal Articles

The Socialist Countries, North Africa and the Middle East in the Cold War: The Educational Connection
by Constantin Katsakioris
2021
Contemporary European History
The Townscape Movement and the Politics of Post-War Urbanism
by Divya Subramanian
2021
Twentieth Century British History, Volume 32, Issue 3, Pages 392–415
A coming of age: How and why the UK became the first democracy to allow votes for 18-year-olds
by Thomas Loughran, Andrew Mycock, & Jonathan Tonge
2021
Contemporary British History, Volume 35, Issue 2, Pages 284-313
Late Socialism as a Time of Weeping: The Life, Death, and Resurrection of Vladimir Vysotskii
by Joy Neumeyer
2021
Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History, Volume 22, Number 3
Folk-Spectrum Music as an Expression of Alterity in ‘Normalization’ Czechoslovakia (1969–89): Context, Constraints and Characteristics
by Tom Dickins
2017
Slavonic and East European Review, Vol. 95, No. 4

HI 2320: Intro to Modern European History - Prof. Emily Gioielli: Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals for Modern European History

Suggested Databases for History

Examples of Journal Articles