Guides: HI 2350: Topics in History of Science: Biological and Anthropological Sciences : Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

On this page, you'll find:

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

Peer-Reviewed Articles in WPI Library Search

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Recommended Databases for History

Use these databases to find journal articles, books, and book chapters on historical topics.

America History & Life combined search with Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
America History & Life:
Coverage: 1954-
Full Text: No
Titles Indexed
Historical Abstracts:
Coverage: 1886-
Full Text: No
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

More History Databases

Examples of Scholarly Journals

Examples of Scholarly Journals:

The American Historical Review
The official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA).
The British Journal for the History of Science
This leading international journal publishes scholarly papers and review articles on all aspects of the history of science. History of science is interpreted widely to include medicine, technology and social studies of science.
Dædalus
Drawing on the nation’s most prominent thinkers in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences, as well as the professions and public life, Dædalus, Journal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, explores the frontiers of knowledge and issues of public importance.
History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences
An interdisciplinary journal committed to providing an integrative approach to understanding the life sciences. It welcomes submissions from historians, philosophers, biologists, physicians, ethicists and scholars in the social studies of science.
History of Science
Publishes analytically oriented articles that combine original research and critical engagement with up-to-date secondary literature in the history of science, technology and medicine.
History of the Human Sciences
This journal aims to expand our understanding of the human world through an interdisciplinary approach. The journal publishes articles from a wide range of fields - including sociology, psychology, psychoanalysis, the neurosciences, anthropology, political science, philosophy, literary criticism, critical theory, art history, linguistics, and the law - that engage with the histories of these disciplines and the interactions between them.
The Journal of American History
The leading scholarly publication and journal of record in the field of American history and is the major resource for the study, investigation, and teaching of our country's heritage.
Journal of the History of Biology
Devoted to the history of the biological sciences, with additional interest and concern in philosophical and social issues confronting biology. While all historical epochs are touched upon, the journal pays particular attention to developments during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Journal of the History of Ideas
Since its inception in 1940, the Journal of the History of Ideas has served as a medium for the publication of research in intellectual history that is of common interest to scholars and students in a wide range of fields. JHI defines intellectual history expansively and ecumenically, including the histories of philosophy, of literature and the arts, of the natural and social sciences, of religion, and of political thought.
Philosophy of Science
Essays, discussion articles and book reviews in the general area of philosophy of science for members of the Philosophy of Science Association.
Science & Technology Studies
Science & Technology Studies is an international peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the advancement of scholarly studies of science and technology as socio-material phenomena, including their historical and contemporary production and their associated forms of knowledge, expertise, social organization and controversy.
Studies in History and Philosophy of Science Part C: Studies in History and Philosophy of Biological and Biomedical Sciences
This journal is devoted to historical, sociological, philosophical and ethical aspects of the life and environmental sciences, of the sciences of mind and behaviour, and of the medical and biomedical sciences and technologies. The journal has ceased publication as of 2021. The last issue is December 2020.

Links for finding additional journals on history:

Browse History Journals in Browzine

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Not seeing the full text of an article in one of the library's databases? Click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.
Is the journal available through the WPI Library? Search for it in Browzine.
Request delivery of the article from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.