HI 2350: Topics in History of Science: Biological and Anthropological Sciences : Primary Sources

On this page you'll find:

• Definition of Primary Sources
• Library Databases with Primary Sources
• Websites with Primary Sources
• Examples of Books Containing Primary Sources
• WPI Archives

Primary sources are materials that provide firsthand testimony to a subject under investigation. Researchers use these firsthand accounts to understand events from the viewpoint of people living during that time period.

Primary sources include documents and artifacts from the time period under study, such as:

• letters
• diaries
• photographs 
• newspaper articles
• pamphlets
• government records
• songs
• poems

Primary sources also include writings and recordings by witnesses who experienced the events or conditions being documented, such as:

• oral histories
• autobiographies
• memoirs 

To find primary sources via Google, try adding keywords like journals, papers, letters, documents, primary sources, or documentary history to your search terms. Primary sources can often be found on library, museum, and government websites. 

Here are some examples of websites that can help you find primary sources:

Sometimes collections of primary source documents are republished in books. Here are some strategies for finding books like these:

• Search WPI Library Search for books about your topic and add keywords like journals, papers, letters, documents, photographs, primary sources, documentary history, or sourcebook to your search terms

Here are some examples of books containing primary sources:

Archives and Special Collections at Gordon Library serves as the institutional memory of Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) and curates the university's collection of manuscripts, rare books, art, and objects. Our staff is committed to the preservation of the historical and cultural resources produced by WPI faculty, students, and staff while also providing support for primary source education and research. To ask a question about the archives, please fill out our contact form or e-mail archives@wpi.edu.