Guides: Research Methodology: Resources for Research Methodology

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by Albert J. Mills (Editor); Gabrielle Durepos (Editor); Eleden Wiebe (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781849727686
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
This resource for case study research provides a thorough overview of methods and design as guidance for students researchers and professionals who wish to incorporate case studies into a research project or programme.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi O′Brien (Editor); Jodi O'Brien (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412909167
Publication Date: 2008-11-26
2009 RUSA Outstanding ReferenceCHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"Given both the interdisciplinarity of the field of gender scholarship and the immense significance of gender to both indviduals and societies, it is probably impossible to produce such a compendium. The editor, advisory team, and contributors are to be credited for tackling a project of such immense scope...O′Brien′s commitment to the possibility of a more-informed discourse on the highly complex and nuanced topic of gender and society promises to benefit a broad readership...Highly recommended for academic libraries of all sizes and for large public libraries."--Booklist STARRED Review "All topics in this wide-ranging resource are addressed in an unbiased and unprejudiced manner, and facts are stated clearly and coherently. The coverage of changing topics is kept current. A valuable addition to any library." --Library JournalFor decades,scholars of gender have been documenting and analyzing the various ways in which gender shapes individual lives,cultural beliefs and practices, and social and economic organization.Including contributions by experts in the field, the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world. Key Features: · Provides users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research · Offers "framing" essays that summarize commonly used concepts and directions of research and provide an overview of each area (e.g., Media and Gender Socialization; Religion, Gender Roles in; Sexuality and Reproduction; Women′s Social Movements, History of) · Examines basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics). · Contains new information on well-known subjects, including surprising facts that may counter common assumptions and research in areas of study where the impact of gender has been traditionally overlooked · Reflects cutting-edge discussion and scholarship on current issues and debates regarding gender and society
Encyclopedia of Research Design by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961271
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Research design can be daunting for all types of researchers. At its heart it might be described as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge--the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical tools, tests, and analysis to meet a project′s objectives. Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. Although there are generic encyclopedias describing basic social science research methodologies in general, until now there has been no comprehensive A-to-Z reference work exploring methods specific to communication and media studies. Our entries, authored by key figures in the field, focus on special considerations when applied specifically to communication research, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication, journalism, and media studies. Entries cover every step of the research process, from the creative development of research topics and questions to literature reviews, selection of best methods (whether quantitative, qualitative, or mixed) for analyzing research results and publishing research findings, whether in traditional media or via new media outlets. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of theories and methods traditionally used in communication research, other entries discuss important trends influencing the future of that research, including contemporary practical issues students will face in communication professions, the influences of globalization on research, use of new recording technologies in fieldwork, and the challenges and opportunities related to studying online multi-media environments. Email, texting, cellphone video, and blogging are shown not only as topics of research but also as means of collecting and analyzing data. Still other entries delve into considerations of accountability, copyright, confidentiality, data ownership and security, privacy, and other aspects of conducting an ethical research program.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by Bruce B. Frey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781506326153
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluationalso covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments.Key Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with Further Readings and cross-references to related entries. The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and cross-references combine to provide a robust search-and-browse in the electronic version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412941631
Publication Date: 2008-08-21
Qualitative research is designed to explore the human elements of a given topic, while specific qualitative methods examine how individuals see and experience the world. Qualitative approaches are typically used to explore new phenomena and to capture individuals′ thoughts, feelings, or interpretations of meaning and process. Such methods are central to research conducted in education, nursing, sociology, anthropology, information studies, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and health sciences. Qualitative research projects are informed by a wide range of methodologies and theoretical frameworks. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more--all without overwhelming the informed reader.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by Michael S. Lewis-Beck; Alan Bryman; Tim F. (Futing) Liao
ISBN: 9780761923633
Publication Date: 2003-12-15
SAGE Reference is proud to announce The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers. Written to be accessible to general readers, entries do not require any advanced knowledge or experience to understand the purposes and basic principles of any of the methods. The Encyclopedia features two major types of entries: definitions, consisting of a paragraph or two, which provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays, discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method. Also included are suggested readings and references for future study. To help provide a more complete explanation than is often achieved within the scope of a single article, key terms and concepts appear in small capital letters to refer readers to related terms explained elsewhere. In addition to epistemological issues that influence the nature of research questions and assumptions, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods tackles topics not normally viewed as part of social science research methodology, from philosophical issues such as poststructuralism to advanced statistical techniques. In covering the full range of qualitative and quantitative data analyses, this key reference offers an integrated approach that allows the reader to choose the most appropriate and robust techniques to apply to each situation. Many entries treat traditional topics in a novel way, stimulating both interest and new perspectives. One example is the entry Econometrics, by Professor Damodar Gujarati. Following a process which many educators preach but seldom practice, Gujarati walks the reader twice through the research process from economic theory to data and models to analysis, once in principle and a second time with an example. In using the ordinary process of economic research to achieve an extraordinary impact, he leaves the reader thinking not only about methods and models but also the fundamental purpose of econometrics. Topics Covered: - Analysis of Variance - Association and Correlation - Basic Qualitative Research - Basic Statistics - Causal Modeling (Structural Equations) - Discourse/Conversation Analysis - Econometrics - Epistemology - Ethnography - Evaluation - Event History Analysis - Experimental Design - Factor Analysis and Related Techniques - Feminist Methodology - Generalized Linear Models - Historical/Comparative - Interviewing in Qualitative Research - Latent Variable Model - Life History/Biography - Loglinear Models (Categorical Dependent Variables) - Longitudinal Analysis - Mathematics and Formal Models - Measurement Level - Measurement Testing and Classification - Multiple Regression - Multilevel Analysis - Qualitative Data Analysis - Sampling in Surveys - Sampling in Qualitative Research - Scaling - Significance Testing - Simple Regression - Survey Design - Time Series Key Features: - Over 900 entries arranged A to Z Each entry is written by a leading authority in the field, covering both quantitative and qualitative methods - Covers all disciplines within the social sciences - Contains both concise definitions and in-depth essays - Three volumes and more than 1500 pages

Handbooks & Guides

The Craft of Research, Fifth Edition by William T. FitzGerald; Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup
ISBN: 9780226826677
Publication Date: 2024-06-25
A thoroughly updated edition of a beloved classic that has guided generations of researchers in conducting effective and meaningful research. With more than a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from high-school students and first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to researchers in business and government. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to choose significant topics, pose genuine and productive questions, find and evaluate sources, build sound and compelling arguments, and convey those arguments effectively to others. While preserving the book's proven approach to the research process, as well as its general structure and accessible voice, this new edition acknowledges the many ways research is conducted and communicated today. Thoroughly revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald, it recognizes that research may lead to a product other than a paper--or no product at all--and includes a new chapter about effective presentations. It features fresh examples from a variety of fields that will appeal to today's students and other readers. It also accounts for new technologies used in research and offers basic guidelines for the appropriate use of generative AI. And it ends with an expanded chapter on ethics that addresses researchers' broader obligations to their research communities and audiences as well as systemic questions about ethical research practices. This new edition will be welcomed by a new and more diverse generation of researchers.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by John W. Creswell; Vicki L. Plano Clark
Call Number: H62 .C6962 2011 (Morgan Teaching & Learning Center)
ISBN: 9781412975179
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
A practical, how-to guide to designing mixed methods studies. Combining the latest thinking about mixed methods research designs with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Second Edition of Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now covers six major mixed methods designs. Authors John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark walk readers through the entire research process, from formulating questions to designing, collecting data, and interpreting results and include updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from the social, behavioral, health, and education disciplines. New to This Edition: * Two new mixed methods designs--transformative and multiphase--are now covered. * New flowcharts detail the steps involved in conducting each of the six major mixed methods designs. * More detailed coverage of data collection decisions for each of the six major designs. * New topic coverage - The use of joint displays - Emerging discussion about validity - Newest thinking about the use of software in the process of mixed methods analysis * An example of a mixed method dissertation outline is now included in the set of guidelines for reporting mixed methods research in a proposal, dissertation, or journal article. * New and revised activities and exercises conclude each chapter. This text is intended for use in Intermediate/Advanced Research Methods, Mixed Methods, Research Design, and Social Research Methods courses across the social sciences.
The Oxford handbook of qualitative research by Leavy, Patricia, 1975- editor.
ISBN: 9780199389629
Publication Date: 2014
This book presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research.
The Politics and Ethics of Representation in Qualitative Research by The Critical The Critical Methodologies Collective (Editor)
ISBN: 0429299672
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
This book offers insights on politics and ethics of representation that are relevant to researchers concerned with struggles for justice. It takes moments of discomfort in the qualitative research process as important sites of knowledge for exploring representational practices in critical research. The Politics and Ethics of Representation in Qualitative Research draws on experiences from research processes in nine PhD projects. In some chapters, ethical and political dilemmas related to representational practices are analyzed as experienced in fieldwork. In others, the focus is on the production of representation at the stage of writing. The book deals with questions such as: What does it mean to write about the lives of others? How are ethics and politics of representation intertwined, and how are they distinct? How are politics of representation linked to a practice of solidarity in research? What are the im/possibilities of hope and care in research? Drawing on grounded empirical research, the book offers input to students, PhDs, researchers, practitioners, activists and others dealing with methodological dilemmas from a critical perspective. Instead of ignoring discomforts, or describing them as solved, we stay with them, showing how such a reflective process provides new, ongoing insights. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9780429299674, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Qualitative Research by Ayton, Darshini; Tsindos, Tess; Berkovic, Danielle
ISBN: 0645755400
Publication Date: 2024
This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to integrate qualitative research into the evidence base of health and social care research. Qualitative research designs are diverse and each design has a different focus that will inform the approach undertaken and the results that are generated. The aim is to move beyond the “what” of qualitative research to the “how”, by (1) outlining key qualitative research designs for health and social care research – descriptive, phenomenology, action research, case study, ethnography, and grounded theory; (2) a decision tool of how to select the appropriate design based on a guiding prompting question, the research question and available resources, time and expertise; (3) an overview of mixed methods research and qualitative research in evaluation studies; (4) a practical guide to data collection and analysis; (5) providing examples of qualitative research to illustrate the scope and opportunities; and (6) tips on communicating qualitative research.

Qualitative Research Methods: A Data Collector’s Field Guide
2005. This how-to guide by the non-profit FHI360 covers the mechanics of data collection for applied qualitative research. It is appropriate for novice and experienced researchers alike. It can be used as both a training tool and a daily reference manual for field team members. The question and answer format and modular design make it easy for readers to find information on a particular topic quickly.

Qualitative research methods for the social sciences by Bruce L. Berg and Howard Lune
Call Number: Reserve Shelf H61 B4715 2017
ISBN: 9780134202136
Publication Date: 2017
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by Uwe Flick (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473952133
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection systematically explores the approaches, techniques, debates and new frontiers for creating, collecting and producing qualitative data. Bringing together contributions from internationally leading scholars in the field, the handbook offers a state-of-the-art look at key themes across six thematic parts: Part I Charting the Routes Part II Concepts, Contexts, Basics Part III Types of Data and How to Collect Them Part IV Digital and Internet Data Part V Triangulation and Mixed Methods Part VI Collecting Data in Specific Populations.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research by Ivy Bourgeault; Robert Dingwall (Editor); Ray de Vries (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446270431
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is a comprehensive and authoritative source on qualitative research methods.The Handbook compiles accessible yet vigorous academic contributions by respected academics from the fast-growing field of qualitative methods in health research and consists of:A series of case studies in the ways in which qualitative methods have contributed to the development of thinking in fields relevant to policy and practice in health care. A section examining the main theoretical sources drawn on by qualitative researchers. A section on specific techniques for the collection of data.A section exploring issues relevant to the strategic place of qualitative research in health care environments.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by Luke Sloan (Editor); Anabel Quan-Haase (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473916326
Publication Date: 2017-02-27
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. This handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo, and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters. The holistic approach is organized into the following sections: Conceptualizing & Designing Social Media Research Collection & Storage Qualitative Approaches to Social Media Data Quantitative Approaches to Social Media Data Diverse Approaches to Social Media Data Analytical Tools Social Media Platforms.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Network Analysis by John Scott (Editor); Peter J. Carrington (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847873958
Publication Date: 2011-05-25

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Coverage: 1971-
Full text: Yes
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Coverage: 1954-
Full Text: No
Titles Indexed
APA PSYCARTICLES® and APA PSYCINFO® This link opens in a new window
APA PSYCARTICLES® - offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1. APA PSYCINFO® - published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text. Subject coverage: Computer Science; Information Systems; Computer Security; Database Design; Software Development; Web Commerce; LANs; WANs; Intranets; Internet.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice) This link opens in a new window
A periodical collection supporting criminal justice, with articles on law, law enforcement, security, terrorism, and more.
This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Cases are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts on educational topics. Maintained by the Education Resources Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Full text non-journal documents issued 1993+ are available free.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile: Gender Studies) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. HAPI currently indexes over 400 journals and includes the contents of over 700 journals dating back to the late 1960s. About 80% of the currently indexed titles include links to full text sources.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical abstracts of global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1886-
Full Text: No
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Data, charts, and statistics on topics such as population, work and welfare, economy, governance and international relations.
Coverage: 1600-
Full Text: Yes
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essay collections and bibliographies on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Coverage: 1926-
Full Text: No
Titles Included
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
OECD Data Explorer This link opens in a new window
OECD Data Explorer offers access to OECD's core data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
PsycARTICLES on PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from American Psychological Association (APA) PyscNET and selected Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips | Tutorial
Religion Database (1986-current) This link opens in a new window
International religion and spirituality - journal articles . Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Database features over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: Physics; Engineering; Astronomy; Biology; Earth Science; Chemistry; and more
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Subject areas include: • Advanced technologies • Aerospace • Agricultural science • Aquatic science • Atmospheric science • Biological science • Computer science • Earth science • Environmental science • Engineering • Materials science • Polymer science. See https://proquest.libguides.com/scitechpremium/about for more information and searching guidance.
statista This link opens in a new window
Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statistical Abstract of the United States National Data Book This link opens in a new window
Statistical tables on social and economic conditions in the United States. Some international data also.
Coverage: 1878-2012
Full Text: No
Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1962 - current

Web Resources

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme
Critical Appraisal skills enable you to systematically assess the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers. The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) has over 28 years of significant and unrivalled expertise in the delivery of training to healthcare professionals.
IMPSCI (Implementation Science Tutorials
From UNC-Chapel Hill: The following tutorials are narrated PowerPoint presentations by UNC faculty, research staff, and other colleagues. They provide brief overviews of selected topics in Implementation Science, particularly focusing on research methods applied in dissemination & implementation research.
JAMAevidence
From the Journal of the American Medical Association, these educational slide sets are aimed at instruction of evidence-based medicine (EBM) concepts related to specific topics. EBM integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Why Mixed Methods: Johns Hopkins
From the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Mixed Methods Research Training Program for the Health Sciences.
Measuring, Learning, and Evaluation Project for the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative
The Measurement, Learning & Evaluation (MLE) Project was the evaluation component of the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative (URHI), a multi-country program in India, Kenya, Nigeria and Senegal that aimed to improve the health of the urban poor between 2010 and 2015. The goal of the MLE project was to promote evidence-based decision-making in the design of integrated family planning and reproductive health interventions for the URHI. Many relevant resources and tools are still available.
NIH Office of Behavioral & Social Sciences Research (OBSSR) Best Practices for Mixed Methods Research in Health Sciences
The OBSSR commissioned a team in 2010 to develop a resource that would provide guidance to NIH investigators on how to rigorously develop and evaluate mixed methods research applications.
NIH Office of Behavioral & Social Sciences Research (OBSSR) eSource: Introductory Social and Behavioral Science Training Methods
eSource is a collection of online chapters that provide an introduction to selected behavioral and social science research approaches, including theory development and testing, survey methods, measurement, and study design. eSource was developed for OBSSR around 2010 by the New England Research Institute (NERI) with contributions from topic experts. These chapters have not been updated to reflect advances in the past decade, and the exercises are not interactive in PDF format, but OBSSR continues to make these chapters available online for those who wish to use them as supplementary teaching materials.

Research Methodology: Resources for Research Methodology

Research Methods Resources

Encyclopedias

Handbooks & Guides

Databases

Web Resources