Get Set Up
Keep organized, work more efficiently, search more quickly. Meet with a librarian as a team. Consider using EndNote Web or another citation builders to save you references and notes. Set up ILLiad and learn how to obtain items from other libraries.
- Research Consultation RequestIf you have not already, be sure to meet with a librarian when you embark on your project research.
- EndNote WebUse to manage your references and generate bibliographies. More...
- ILLiad Interlibrary Loan - Set up AccountIf you haven't already used this service, take a minute to set up your account to order papers or books from other libraries.
- Learning with Technology CollaboratoryLearn more about ATC tools may help you with your project, such as SharePoint or Wimba for web conferencing.
Find Information on Your Project Topic
Start at the library website with our ALL/Summon search to see what information you can find.
Search tips: Use quotes around phrases such as "invasive plants" to be more specific or consider using the advanced search and filters to narrow down your results. Use * for truncation, for example, sustainab* will retrieve any results with that word root.
Be sure you understand how:
- to get to full text using WPI's FullTextFinder
- to order items through Interlibrary Loan (free for students)
Also try:
- Databases & Electronic ResourcesSearch for secondary research: articles, reports, case studies, news. Specialized databases to use depend on your topic: PubMed, ScienceDirect, Engineering Village, are a few examples
- For most IQPs you will have to perform primary research (collect data yourself) for pieces of information that cannot be found within web or library sources.
- WPI Journals Search TabAs you perform your research, you will come across journals that may be on your specific area of research. Track down journals that WPI owns either in print or online.
Get Thinking
Start thinking about how to search for information on your topic:
- In one sentence or phrase describe your topic or research question.
- Break down the sentence or phrase into concepts.List synonyms to help with keyword and subject searching. Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) when needed.
- What broad research areas might cover your topic?Look at the breakdown of databases by subject.
- What are some of the key concepts in your topic?
- Create a search strategy by using OR to combine synonyms/narrower terms and AND to combine key concepts.Example: (eating disorders OR anorexia nervosa OR bulimia) AND (behavior modification OR behavior therapy OR biofeedback training)
Track Down Experts
- Who’s an expert in your area of research?
- Are there any organizations, associations which may be worth exploring?
- Project Center Research GuidesOften list governmental and other useful sites to find important people. Also, regional news articles can help you zone in on experts, officials, or others who may have a vested interest in your project topic area.
- LibWeb - Are there other libraries which may have special collections?
How and When is Information Published?
5 Top Tools for IQP's
- Summonlibrary one search
- FullText Finderfind within databases or Google Scholar & click to find full text or retreival options
- EndNote WebUse to manage your references and generate bibliographies. More...
- Google Scholar
- ILLiad, Interlibrary Loan, and Document Deliverytip: to order books from other libraries, use Worldcat.org
Inspiration

IQP Project Report Template
Below is a MS Word template along with instructions. The template outlines the contents and structure of a standard IQP project report. This may serve as a guide for project teams.
For assistance with MS Word styles, pagination, generating table of contents, graphs/tables and other features, contact the helpdesk@wpi.edu.
Research Skills Tutorials & Quiz
- IQP Library Research Tutorials
- ID2050 students check your myWPI site for the quizzes
- Quiz for Venice & Santa Fe Teams (not using myWPI)
Project Related Links
- See all general reserve materials for IQP GroupsBooks on interviewing, surveys, social science research methods and more.
- Project Center Resourcesby center
- Projects Program: Formats & Title Page
- eProject Submission
WPI Library Research Workshops
Check out our Library Workshops listing. We offer a wide variety of workshops on various topics.

Loading...
