Skip to Main Content

HI 1330: Introduction to the History of Science and Technology: Search Strategies

Search Strategies

Choosing Keywords

  • This process often requires some trial and error.
  • Begin with some basic keywords about your topic to get started.
  • Brainstorm synonyms for those keywords.
  • Use encyclopedias to find more complex vocabulary/technical terms.
  • READ – the more you read about your topic, the more you will learn about the vocabulary used in that field, which will help you to refine your keyword searches.
  • This is not a linear process. There will be a lot of back and forth between reading/note taking and trying different search terms. 

Find Background Sources

Look for background information in encyclopedias. Do NOT cite encyclopedias in your research paper. Instead, use encyclopedias to find research ideas or to narrow down a research topic. Background sources can also help you learn the vocabulary used to describe your topic. This new vocabulary will help you with your keyword searches. 

Here are some examples of encyclopedias you may wish to use for background information: 

Use search filters

  • When searching in databases, use search filters on the search results page to narrow down your search. Some of the most common filters are:
    • Publication Date
    • Source Format/Resource Type (book, journal, video, etc.)
    • Subject 
    • Peer-reviewed/Academic Journal

Use search operators

Use these search operators to narrow or broaden your search:

 Operator 

Example

Result

AND 

pandemic AND masks

Narrows the search to entries containing both terms. 

 OR 

pandemic OR epidemic OR plague

Broadens the search to entries containing any of the terms. 

NOT 

pandemic NOT covid

Excludes entries containing the second term. 

“ ” 

“personal protective equipment” 

Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes. 

? 

globali?ation 

Wildcard: Retrieves both globalization and globalisation. 

* 

mask* 

Truncation: Retrieves mask, masks, masking, etc.

Get the full text of a source

  • Some of the library's databases only provide abstracts for sources. Look for the FullTextFinder icon on the search results page. If you only have the summary/abstract of an article, click on the FullTextFinder to search all 200+ library databases for the full-text.
  • Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Submit an ILL request to get full-text journal articles, books and book chapters that are not available through the Gordon Library. ILL is a service that allows you to request these materials, and library staff will try to get these materials for you from another library. 

Finding one helpful source can lead you to more

  • Check bibliographies for additional relevant sources.
  • Some databases provide “cited by” links for articles - these links help you find sources that have cited an article and built on the authors' research.
  • Some databases provide “related articles” links to connect you to articles on similar topics.