Here is a sample of the online journals that are available through the Gordon Library on the topic of climate action. To search within other journals for climate change and environmental issues, use one of the databases listed below, or the WPI Library Search box.
Climate Change: Global Risks, Challenges and Decisions by
Providing an up-to-date synthesis of all knowledge relevant to the climate change issue, this book ranges from the basic science documenting the need for policy action to the technologies, economic instruments and political strategies that can be employed in response to climate change. Ethical and cultural issues constraining the societal response to climate change are also discussed. This book provides a handbook for those who want to understand and contribute to meeting this challenge. It covers a very wide range of disciplines - core biophysical sciences involved with climate change (geosciences, atmospheric sciences, ocean sciences, ecology/biology) as well as economics, political science, health sciences, institutions and governance, sociology, ethics and philosophy, and engineering. As such it will be invaluable for a wide range of researchers and professionals wanting a cutting-edge synthesis of climate change issues, and for advanced student courses on climate change.
Governing Climate Change by
Cities are no longer just places to live in. They are significant actors on the global stage, and nowhere is this trend more prominent than in the world of transnational climate change governance (TCCG). Through transnational networks that form links between cities, states, international organizations, corporations, and civil society, cities are developing and implementing norms, practices, and voluntary standards across national boundaries. In introducing cities as transnational lawmakers, Jolene Lin provides an exciting new perspective on climate change law and policy, offering novel insights about the reconfiguration of the state and the nature of international lawmaking as the involvement of cities in TCCG blurs the public/private divide and the traditional strictures of 'domestic' versus 'international'. This illuminating book should be read by anyone interested in understanding how cities - in many cases, more than the countries in which they're located - are addressing the causes and consequences of climate change.
The Implementation of the Paris Agreement on Climate Change by
In December 2015, 196 parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) adopted the Paris Agreement, seen as a decisive landmark for global action to stop human- induced climate change. The Paris Agreement will replace the 1997 Kyoto Protocol which expires in 2020, and it creates legally binding obligations on the parties, based on their own bottom-up voluntary commitments to implement Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs). The codification of the climate change regime has advanced well, but the implementation of it remains uncertain. This book focuses on the implementation prospects of the Agreement, which is a challenge for all and will require a fully comprehensive burden- sharing framework. Parties need to meet their own NDCs, but also to finance and transfer technology to others who do not have enough. How equity- based and facilitative the process will be, is of crucial importance. The volume examines a broad range of issues including the lessons that can be learnt from the implementation of previous environmental legal regimes, climate policies at national and sub-national levels and whether the implementation mechanisms in the Paris Agreement are likely to be sufficient. Written by leading experts and practitioners, the book diagnoses the gaps and lays the ground for future exploration of implementation options. This collection will be of interest to policy-makers, academics, practitioners, students and researchers focusing on climate change governance.
Climate Change - International Law and Global Governance by
The two-volume publication is one of the first attempts to systematically address both international climate change law and global climate change governance. The two-volume publication deals with international law and the multiple regulatory regimes reflecting fragmentation in the absence of a universal climate change regime. International climate change law, global climate governance and diplomacy are interrelated and extremely complex: The publications explore these areas from a variety of doctrinal, transdisciplinary and thematic perspectives. Volume I assesses the most pressing impacts of climate change on various international law regimes. The main focus lies on international climate change law as a new international law discipline; climate change and human rights; climate change, international trade and investment law; the law of the sea and sea level rise; judicial review and international climate change litigation; other subjects such as mitigation regulation, natural resource management and climate-engineering. Volume II reflects on the United Nations Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the most pressing impacts of climate change on international diplomacy and global governance. This is highlighted from various transdisciplinary and geopolitical perspectives with a special focus on the challenge of strengthening national and international climate change policy, sustainable development and increasing equity around the world, which goes beyond the capacity of national governments. Various international climate change cooperation and protection efforts are analysed, also in the context of global security, climate induced migration movements, adaptation and the loss and damage debate.
Census Bureau experts show how you can use Census Bureau data, including the American Community Survey (ACS), to plan for equity in the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental projects in your community.
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.