Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).
A powerful search tool to streamline your library research. Entering terms into a single search box yields results that include: books and e-books, research and news articles, project reports, electronic theses and dissertations, archival materials, patents, open access collections and more.
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Search and display U.S. patents 1790 to the present using the technology that powers Google Book Search, with the ability to scroll and zoom in on text and illustrations.
Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.
ICC's Digital Codes Library is the largest provider of model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Free access to 800+ ICC resources and the largest collection of code titles.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including more than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus red-lined version comparisons between any 2 versions.
WPI has entered a UNE-EN Pilot Program (from 1-1-2025 until 7-1-2026) for the UNE-EN collection - which contains 94,000 standards: ENs, and EU (really European Commission) adopted ISOs and EU adopted IECs. Once the adoption takes place the ISO is now an EN ISO, and the IEC is an EN IEC. The EN ISO document is identical in every way to an ISO, and the EN IEC document is identical in every way to an IEC. The only difference is the EN ISO and EN IEC have the addition of a National foreword/endorsement/cover page.
[NOTE: Once the Pilot Program ends, WPI may no longer have access to the UNE-EN standards.]
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
SFPE Handbook of Fire Protection Engineering by 
NFPA 101 Life Safety Code 2015 by