Guides: Business & Management: Journal Articles

Journal Article Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Business Source Elite (WPI subscription & access ends 7-1-2024) This link opens in a new window
This premium business database from EBSCO provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Coverage: 1922-
Full Text: Yes
Journals and Other Sources Included
Emerald Management 120 This link opens in a new window
Emerald is one of the leading publishers of management research with an international perspective. The package consists of 120 top rated journals on a range of business and management topics.
Coverage: Varies
Full text: Yes
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Cases are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

ILLiad: Borrowing from other Libraries

Is there something you need that the WPI library doesn't have? Our Interlibrary Loan service allows WPI students and faculty to request items from other libraries free of charge.

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.

Is the journal online or here in the library? Search our Journals
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

What is Peer-Review?

"A process by which a scholarly work (such as a paper or a research proposal) is checked by a group of experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted." - Merriam Webster

What are Peer-Reviewed Journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a highly respected type of publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication.

Peer Review Video

Peer Review Overview

Run Time: 2:52

Key Student Learning Competencies:

What is Peer-Review? (0:10)
The Impact of Peer-Review Processes (0:50)
The Peer-Review Process (1:39)
Locating Peer-Reviewed Articles via the Gordon Library (2:25)