Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Types of Sources

So many choices! Use this guide to determine when to use a book, journal, video, encyclopedia or other sources.

About Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias contain brief factual articles on many subjects. There are two types of encyclopedias -- general and subject.

  • General encyclopedias provide overviews on a wide variety of topics. 
  • Subject encyclopedias contain entries focusing on one field of study.

Use an encyclopedia:

  • when looking for brief background or overview information on a topic
  • when trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts

Wikipedia

Use wisely and with a bit of skepticism! Verify using other possibly more reliable sources. Professors at WPI generally don't want to see Wikipedia references in bibliographies. Wikipedia can be a useful starting point as you look for ideas of what you want to learn more about, but it is not a source that you will cite in your paper. Remember this rule: Wikipedia is a good place to start but not a good place to finish.

Characteristics of Encyclopedias

Authors are:

varied, some are scholars.

Sources are:

sometimes cited.

Entries are:

sometimes short, designed to give an overview of a subject

Find Encyclopedias

Many encyclopedias are available online.

How to Cite

Example hardcopy encyclopedia reference citation in American Psychological Association (APA)style:

Yang, G. W. (2009). Thermodynamic and kinetic theories of nanowire growth. In Encyclopedia of nanotechnology (Vol. 1, pp. 201-235). Nova Science Publishers.

 Example electronic encyclopedia reference citation in American Psychological Association (APA) style:

Brunell, L. (2020). Feminism. In Encyclopædia Britannicahttp://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/724633/feminism

For information on additional citation styles, please see the Citing Sources guide.