Databases by Subject: Materials Science & Metallurgical Engineering

The ASM Alloy Center Database™ Alloy Finder is an authoritative database of more than 123,000 alloy designations,specifications, standards, and commercial grades in the U.S. and globally. The latest release includes nearly 3,000 new and updated ferrous and nonferrous alloy standards specification data sheets: UNS, ASTM, ASME, and International standards (BSI, BIS, JIS, etc.).

Volumes from the ASM handbook series presented together in an online format.  The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.

The Micrograph Database ™ is a growing collection of more than 4,600 micrograph images and associated data, published by ASM International, in cooperation with the International Metallographic Society (IMS). 

Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Abstracts of articles on research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of materials.

Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Materials Collection Online). 

The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated citations for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1965 - current

Access suspended as of 7/1/2023 - please contact us at gr-collectiondevelopment@wpi.edu for more information.
 

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

[Access is limited to current WPI students, faculty and staff. Access is not available for walk-in or non-affiliated users.]
Connect with the world’s scientific knowledge and find the answers you need to advance your scientific research. Access journals and patents across multiple disciplines and identify chemical substances and structures, names, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®. In addition, take advantage of the included structure drawing tool, powerful visualizations, a retrosynthesis planner, bioactivity data, and more. With an easy-to-use search interface, get started quickly and complete your research tasks with confidence.  *Use the Open CAS App Switcher (top left corner) to also access CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulus® on the CAS SCIFINDER DISCOVERY PLATFORM.

Current WPI faculty, staff, and students must create their own SciFinder username and password before they can access the database. You must use a campus IP (i.e be on campus or using VPN) when you create your account, and you must use your @wpi.edu email address when you register. SciFinder will email to this address instructions for completing your registration. Non-WPI email addresses will not be accepted.
**Click on REGISTRATION to begin.
For more detailed information Click here

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1962 - current