Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Hispanic & Latinx Heritage

Novels (in Spanish)

La Muerte de Artemio Cruz by Carlos Fuentes
Call Number: PQ7297 F793 M8 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Cien Años de Soledad by Gabriel García Márquez
Call Number: PQ8180.17 A73 C5325 1996
ISBN: 843760494X
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
Doce Cuentos Peregrinos by Gabriel García Márquez
Call Number: PQ8180.17 A73 D6 1993
Publication Date: 1993
El Reino Del Dragon de Oro by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 R45 2003
ISBN: 9780060591717
Publication Date: 2003
La Casa de los Espíritus by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 C3 1995
ISBN: 9780060951306
Publication Date: 2001-09-18
Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 C84 1990
ISBN: 0060951311
Publication Date: 1990
Las Armas Secretas by Julio Cortázar
Call Number: PQ7797 C7145 A85 1974
ISBN: 9788437601199
Publication Date: 1974
La Fiesta del Chivo by Mario Vargas Llosa
Call Number: PQ8498.32 A65 F54 2006
ISBN: 9789681906993
Publication Date: 2000-02-11

Novels (in English)

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
Call Number: PQ8180.17 A73 C513 2003
ISBN: 9780060531041
Publication Date: 2003-06-24
Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9780385542722
Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 H5513 1999
ISBN: 9780060194918
Publication Date: 1999-10-06
Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 R4813 2001
ISBN: 9780066211619
Publication Date: 2001-10-23
Ines of My Soul by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 I63 2006
ISBN: 9780061161537
Publication Date: 2006-11-07
Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende
Call Number: PQ8098.1 L54 I7813 2010
ISBN: 9780061988240
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
A Long Petal of the Sea by Isabel Allende; Nick Caistor (Translator); Amanda Hopkinson (Translator)
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9781984820150
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9780593436691
Publication Date: 2022-05-03
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Call Number: PS3553 I78 H6 1991
ISBN: 9780679734772
Publication Date: 1991-04-03
Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9780525620785
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-García
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9780525620754
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli
Call Number: Popular Readin
ISBN: 9780525520610
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli
Call Number: ebook - click title to access
ISBN: 9781847085061
Publication Date: 2014
The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida Córdova
Call Number: Popular Reading
ISBN: 9781982102548
Publication Date: 2021-09-07

Newspaper Databases and Websites

Newspaper databases available through the WPI Library:

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

Additional resources for Latin American news:

Examples of news resources for Latin America and the Caribbean.

América Latina en Movimiento
Online newspaper of the Agencia Latinoamericana de Información, an international organization whose stated mission is to cover human rights, gender equality and citizen participation in the development and public affairs of Latin America. Available in English, Spanish & Portuguese.
El Nuevo Dia
El Nuevo Día, the most widely read newspaper in Puerto Rico, has been known largely for its political reporting.
El Universal
El Universal is considered one of the most influential and widely read newspapers in Mexico.
HipLatina
News, entertainment and culture geared at a Latina audience.
Inter Press Service: Latin American & the Caribbean
Agency dedicated to "news and views from the Global South."
Latin America Daily Briefing
Daily dispatch of news from Latin America and the Caribbean--a mix of stories from the international and local press, as well as analysis from think tanks, academics and other commentators.
Latino Rebels
Articles and opinion pieces about the latest U.S. Latinx and Latin American news.
Listin Diario
One of the leading newspapers in the Dominican Republic, and the oldest still being published.
MercoPress
Based in Montevideo, Uruguay, MercoPress is an independent news agency started in 1993 which focuses on delivering news related to the Mercosur trade and political bloc, and member countries, covering an area of influence which includes South America, the South Atlantic and insular territories. Available in English & Spanish.
NACLA Report on the Americas
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides information and analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.
Remezcla
Remezcla started as a grassroots project among writers and creatives to showcase new Latin music, culture, and events outside not receiving covering in major media outlets.
LANIC Newspapers & News
Extensive directory of newspapers published in each country of Latin America & the Caribbean, as well as Spanish-language papers in the U.S. *NOTE: last updated in 2015.
Latin American & Mexican Online News
Directory created by the University of Texas San Antonio Library listing newspapers by region and country in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as newspapers of specific cities and states within Mexico.

Examples of Journals

Bilingual Research Journal
The Bilingual Research Journal publishes on education theory and practice, dealing with bilingual education, bilingualism, and language policies in education.
Bulletin of Latin American Research
The Bulletin of Latin American Research (BLAR) publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Cultural Dynamics
Cultural Dynamics seeks to publish research - and occasionally other materials such as interviews, documents and literary creations - focused on the structured inequalities of the contemporary world, and the myriad ways people negotiate these conditions. See their special issue on LatinX Studies (2019).
Hispanic Research Journal
Publishes research on the cultures of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America from the Middle Ages to the present day in Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan & English.
Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
The Journal of Hispanic Higher Education (JHHE) is a quarterly international journal devoted to the advancement of knowledge and understanding of issues at Hispanic-serving institutions. JHHE maintains a broad focus and accepts the highest quality scholarly, creative and practical articles that combine research with application, fostering the integration of theory and practice.
Journal of Latin American Studies
Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, short thematic commentaries on key issues, and an extensive section of book reviews.
Journal of Latinos and Education
Publishes research on educational issues that impact Latinos in the four broad arenas of policy, research, practice, and creative and literary works.
Latin American Perspectives
Latin American Perspectives is a theoretical and scholarly journal for discussion and debate on the political economy of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas. Most issues focus on a single problem, nation, or region, providing an in-depth look from participants and scholars throughout the Americas.
Latin American Politics and Society
Latin American Politics and Society publishes original social science scholarship on Latin America. The Editorial Board, comprising leading U.S., Latin American, and European scholars, is dedicated to challenging prevailing orthodoxies and promoting innovative theoretical and methodological perspectives on the states, societies, economies, and international relations of the Americas in a globalizing world.
Latin American Research Review
The Latin American Research Review publishes original research in Latin American, Caribbean, and Latina/Latino studies that engages these fields critically and redefines them. LARR seeks research that advances innovative theories and approaches, has broad substantive implications for the region, engages with interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary scholarship, and is accessible to a general academic readership.
Latino Studies
Latino Studies explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. This journal presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos
The rich cultural production, economy, political legacy, and unique peoples of Mexico lay the foundation for the bilingual Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos, the only U.S. published academic journal of its kind. Published twice a year for the University of California Institute for Mexico and the United States, (UC MEXUS), and the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos welcomes articles and comparative analyses, in both English and Spanish, from a variety of multidisciplinary perspectives and methodologies. The journal provides detailed coverage of Mexico-related topics across its forum section, feature articles, and review essays.
Additional Journals for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Explore

Latin Americans in STEM:

Cell Mentor: 100 inspiring Hispanic/Latinx scientists in America
In honor of National Hispanic Heritage Month, Cell Press is showcasing 100 of the most inspiring Hispanic/Latinx scientists working in the United States. This list—selected based on scholarly achievements, mentoring excellence, and commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion—represents only a subset of the scientific role models in the community.
SACNAS: Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science
SACNAS is an inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.
Sabrina Gonzalez Pasterski (Physicist)
At 25, Sabrina Gonzalez Pasterski is one of the world’s foremost ascending physicists. Through her groundbreaking work at MIT and Harvard University, Gonzalez is tackling some of physics’ hardest quandaries while inspiring a generation.
Franklin Chang-Díaz (Former Astronaut)
Selected by NASA in May 1980, Dr. Chang-Díaz became an astronaut in August 1981. While undergoing astronaut training, he was also involved in flight software checkout at the Shuttle Avionics Integration Laboratory (SAIL) and participated in the early space station design studies. In late 1982, he was designated as support crew for the first Spacelab mission and, in November 1983, served as in-orbit Capsule Communicator (CAPCOM) during that flight. From October 1984 to August 1985, he was leader of the astronaut support team at Kennedy Space Center, Florida.
Scarlin Hernandez (Spacecraft Engineer)
As a spacecraft engineer who supports the James Webb Space Telescope's Mission Operations Center at STScI in Baltimore, Scarlin Hernandez has not only had a front row seat—she has access to the controls. She supported Webb during its December 25, 2021 launch, and has worked on console throughout its commissioning.

From the Smithsonian Institution:

Smithsonian Latino Center: Hispanic Heritage Month Resources
Find bilingual resources, military history, online exhibitions & videos, and stories of Latino achievement.
Smithsonian Latino Center: Latino Patriots in American Military History | Patriotas Latinos en la Historia Militar Estadounidense
This bilingual (English/Spanish) collection highlights Latino contributions in American Military History.
Smithsonian National Museum of American History: Mexican America
"Mexican America" is a sampling of objects from the collections of the National Museum of American History. The stories behind these objects reflect the history of the Mexican presence in the United States.

Data & Statistics:

US Census Bureau: National Hispanic Heritage Month
Pew Research Center: Key facts about U.S. Latinos for National Hispanic Heritage Month
Some key facts about the nation’s Latino population by geography and characteristics like language use and origin groups.

Government Resources:

National Park Service: Hispanic Heritage Month
More than 500 years of Hispanic and Latino history and heritage can be found in national parks or shared through National Park Service programs and partners in communities across the country.
National Hispanic Heritage Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.
National Archives: Hispanic Heritage Month
View records on the Hispanic/Latino Heritage resource page and in the Archives Catalog. Topics include Entertainment, Sports, Arts & Culture, Puerto Rico, Prominent Hispanic Americans, and Hispanic and Latino issues in the United States.

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online

You can find videos on Hispanic and Latinx history and culture in Academic Video Online (AVON), the library's primary databases for online videos. Videos in this database are available to current WPI students, faculty, and staff. Here are some example films available in AVON:

Delores by Peter Bratt (director)
Publication Date: 2017
Dolores Huerta is among the most important, yet least known, activists in American history. An equal partner in co-founding the first farm workers unions with Cesar Chavez, her enormous contributions have gone largely unrecognized. Dolores tirelessly led the fight for racial and labor justice alongside Chavez, becoming one of the most defiant feminists of the twentieth century - and she continues the fight to this day, at 87. With intimate and unprecedented access to this intensely private mother to eleven, the film reveals the raw, personal stakes involved in committing one's life to social change.
L.A. Bamba: An Exploration of Son Jarocho in Southern California by Kara Clemins (director)
Publication Date: 2014
L.A. Bamba examines how Son Jarocho musicians engage with Mexican American culture in Los Angeles. Son Jarocho is historically known for its playful style dating back to its creation and spread from Veracruz, Mexico. The genre is characterized by its upbeat style and colorful instrumentation. This film examines how these attributes play a role in the dissemination of ideologies and engagement with Mexican American culture. The musicians featured in the film come from diverse musical upbringings and exemplify the variety present in the Son Jarocho genre. L.A. Bamba explores the ways in which music can be utilized as a social and cultural tool and celebrates the ways that Son Jarocho musicians are taking unique strides in Southern California.
The Latino List: Vol. 1 by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders (director)
Publication Date: 2011
HBO presents a unique glimpse into the vibrant and burgeoning culture of Hispanic America through a series of highly personal video portraits of Latinos who have richly contributed to the fabric of contemporary society.
The Latino List: Vol. 2 by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders (director)
Publication Date: 2012
The Latino List: Volume 2 features interviews with an extraordinary cross-section of Hispanic Americans who represent a variety of professions, disciplines, and backgrounds, each speaking to the unique struggles and triumphs he or she has faced.
¡Palante, Siempre Palante! The Young Lords by Iris Morales (director)
Publication Date: 1996
In the midst of the African American civil rights struggle, protests to end the Vietnam War, and the women's movement for equality, Puerto Rican and Latino communities fought for economic and social justice. From Chicago streets to the barrios of New York City and other urban centers, the Young Lords emerged to demand decent living conditions and raised a militant voice for the empowerment of the Puerto Rican people in the United States. Palante, Siempre Palante documents the history with on-camera interviews, archival footage, photographs and music. The documentary surveys Puerto Rican history, the Young Lords' activities and philosophy, the torturous end of the organization and its inspiring legacy.
Rudo y Cursi by Carlos Cuarón (director)
Publication Date: 2008
Score! From the creators and stars of the international sensation Y Tu Mamá También, comes a raucous comedic drama following two brothers' rivalry. When a talent scout gets stranded in their tiny town, brothers Beto (Diego Luna, Milk, The Terminal) and Tato (Gael García Bernal, Bad Education, Babel) are discovered and whisked away to Mexico City to play for the big leagues where they quickly achieve fame. Beto is nicknamed "Rudo" for his hotheaded goalkeeper style and Tato is called "Cursi" for his peculiar scoring technique. But success leads to excess as Rudo descends into gambling debt and drug abuse and Cursi is distracted by beautiful women and a second career as a pop singer. Having come so far, will the siblings remember their original goal: building a home for their mother?
Stolen Education by Enrique Alemán, Jr. (director)
Publication Date: 2013
Stolen Education documents the untold story of Mexican-American school children who challenged discrimination in Texas schools in the 1950's and changed the face of education in the Southwest. As a 9 year-old second grader, Lupe had been forced to remain in the first grade for three years, not because of her academic performance but solely because she was Mexican American. She was one of eight young students who testified in a federal court case in 1956 to end the discriminatory practice (Hernandez et al. v. Driscoll Consolidated Independent School District), one of the first post-Brown desegregation court cases to be litigated.