CH 1010: Chemical Properties, Bonding, and Forces

Related Guides

Databases by Subject: Chemistry and Biochemistry libguides.wpi.edu/databases/bysubject/chemistry_biochemistry

Need Help? Ask Us!

If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/ 

Starting Your Search

If you are looking for more general information, or an overview of a certain topic, try the following search tips:

  • Type your search terms into WPI Library Search (the same as the search on the main library web page). On the results page, go to the left side of the page and click 'Resource Type,' then scroll down and click on 'Reference Entries.' This will limit the results to entries from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works.
  • Use Knovel technical handbook database (listed below on the 'Top Databases' list). Use the search bar at the top of the page and type in your search terms. Knovel will take you to the most relevant book chapters and sections that often will have an overview of your topic.
  • Look for review articles. This can be as simple as typing in 'review' after your search terms into a search bar. The aim of these types of articles is to review the literature on a certain topic, and they are therefore less specific than original research articles.

Top Chemistry Databases

SciFinder and Reaxys: A Brief Introduction

This video goes into the basics of searching SciFinder and Reaxys. Both databases have similar purposes (helping you find chemical literature, as well as information on substances and reactions), but have different areas of coverage and different interfaces. If you have any questions, please email us at library@wpi.edu or drop in to our offices. You can also schedule an appointment with one of us from the main library site.

Examples of Chemistry Journals

Find more journals by searching Browzine. Browzine also allows you to find the top-ranking chemistry journals and journals specific to various subfields, such as biochemistry or spectroscopy.