Guides: HU 3900: Inquiry Seminar on the Literature of WPI’s Project Centers : Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates.

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Databases

Recommended Databases for finding peer-reviewed articles on literature:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essay collections and bibliographies on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Coverage: 1926-
Full Text: No
Titles Included

Additional Databases:

Filter and Follow Up

Scan results: Read the subject headings, titles, and abstracts to look for vocabulary and phrases to refine your keyword searches.
Examine the articles in your search results. Look for articles of substantial length (10-30 pages) with many citations.
Read the abstract to determine if the article is relevant to your research.
Bibliographies can lead you to more articles.

Examples of Peer-Reviewed Journals at WPI

Use BrowZine to find journals available at WPI. Browse by subject to find journals on Literature.

World Literature Today
Articles, essays and criticism on recent belles lettres in all the major and many of the minor languages of the world, short articles on contemporary writers and literary movements.
Available in these databases:
Humanities International Complete: World Literature Today, 1990 - Present
JSTOR: World Literature Today, Available from 1977; Most recent 3 years not available
Research in African Literatures
Research in African Literatures publishes research on the oral and written literatures of Africa
Chinese Literature Today
The mission of Chinese Literature Today is to provide the finest English translations of and fresh critical essays about contemporary Chinese literature and culture. CLT grants the English-speaking world direct access to best-selling Chinese stories, celebrated Chinese poems, stimulating interviews, and illuminating literary essays on all aspects of contemporary Chinese culture.
Russian Studies in Literature
Russian Studies in Literature publishes high-quality, annotated translations of Russian literary criticism and scholarship on contemporary works and popular cultural topics as well as the classics.
Additional Journals on Literature