Guides: Open Educational Resources: COMPUTER SCIENCE

OERs

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary.

Try the California State University: Course Materials Finder Tool - Enter a book's ISBN to search for freely available related materials related to the book.

Featured Resources: Computer Science OER

Finding OERs by Discipline

Computer Science

Open Textbooks

BC Open Collection –Textbooks: Computer Science – a curated collection open textbooks from British Columbia

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB):Computer Science – DOAB indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books
and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers

ecampus Ontario: Computer Science – from Ontario’s collection of open textbooks; available to adapt and customize

GALILEO Open Learning Materials: Computer Science and Information Technology –
open textbooks from the University System of Georgia

IntechOpen: Computer & Information Science - collection of peer-reviewed open access textbooks

Internet Archive: Computer Science – open source text books

LibreTexts: Computer Science – “a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation
of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning”

MERLOT Materials: Open Textbooks: Computer Science - curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and
faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community

Milne Open Textbooks (Open SUNY): Computer Science – “Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains
Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff”

MIT Opencourseware:Textbooks: Computer Science – free and open collection of textbooks from MIT courses

The National Academies Press: Computers and Information Technology - reports and books from the National Academies of
Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

OAPEN: Computer Science – “quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries
and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation”

OER Commons -Textbooks: Computer Science – a curated collection of open textbooks

Open Data Structures: An open content textbook – the book and accompanying source code are free (libre and gratis) and are
released under a Creative Commons Attribution License

Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota): Computer Science - textbooks are free to use and distribute, and are licensed
to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution

PressBooks Directory: Technology – “an online book-publishing platform that makes educational resources free and accessible.
Get started quickly by adapting an existing work and customizing it for your class”

Open Courseware

Applied Discrete Structures: An open content discrete mathematics textbook in three form factors (May 2022 - Version 3-9; UMass Lowell) – a free open content
textbook along with the Sage Cell Server, an open-source, scalable, and easy-to-use web interface to Sage, a comprehensive open-source math software system

Artificial Intelligence Planning (CC BY-NC) – from the University of Edinburgh; “free open-access learning experience which introduces artificial intelligence planning
techniques and their applications. It comprises a 5 week course with up to 10 hours of lecture material”

CS50: Introduction to Computer Science - open courseware; Harvard University’s introduction to the intellectual enterprises of computer science and the art of
programming, for concentrators and non-concentrators alike, with or without prior programming experience

Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD) - a Pathways portal of the National Science Digital Library and funded by the National Science Foundation

GALILEO Open Learning Materials: Computer Science and Information Technology – ancillary courseware materials from the University System of Georgia

MERLOT Materials - Courseware: Computer Science - a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and
used by an international education community

MIT Open Courseware : Computer Science – free and open courses, course materials & teaching resources from MIT courses; often includes lecture videos,
interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, assessments

The Odin Project- “our full stack curriculum is free and supported by a passionate open source community”; provides an introduction to programming and web development

OpenDSA – infrastructure and materials to support courses in a wide variety of Computer Science-related topics such as Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA), Formal Languages,
Finite Automata, and Programming Languages from Virginia Tech

Programmed Introduction to MIPS Assembly Language - from Central Connecticut State College; licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercia
l 4.0 International License

Saylor Academy: Computer Science – “learning materials are curated from a trove of free and open online resources by expert educators; excluding course final exams,
content authored by Saylor Academy is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license

Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE) – a three-course Introduction to Computer Science, and more advanced courses in artificial intelligence and
electrical engineering; includes complete lecture videos. as well as syllabi, handouts, homework, and exams; under Creative Commons licenses

Suny OER Services: Computer Applications – open course materials includes text, images, videos, assessments, directed feedback, practice questions, simulations,
and other interactives/CC-BY license

Teaching Commons: Computer Science - high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities; includes open access textbooks,
course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more

Wisc-Online: Computer Science – a collection of learning objects from Wisconsin’s Technical Colleges

General Computer Science-related OER

Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD) - a Pathways portal of the National Science Digital Library and funded by the National Science Foundation

ecampus Ontario: Computer Science & IT- courseware, textbooks, and other learning materials

Free TechBooks: Computer Science – free ebooks; most under Creative Commons or GNU Free Documentation License

MERLOT Computer Science Community Portal – “the portal is to provide you with useful education resources (e.g., animations, video lectures, online courses,
open textbooks) for teaching/learning computer science”

MERLOT Materials: Computer Science – open textbooks, course modules, learning activities and exercises, assessments and more

National Science Digital Library: Computing and Information - educational resources for teaching and learning; includes courseware, assessments, activities, and more

OASIS: Information Technology – free & open learning objects (Web-based, self-contained, small chunks of learning) on networks, web development,
IT databases; IT support and more

OER Commons: Computer Science – curated collection including course materials, textbooks, interactive materials, data sets, activities, assessments and more

OER UCLouvain: Computer Science – courseware, presentations, ebooks and more from Université catholique de Louvain

PressBooks OER by Discipline Directory: Computer Science – from BCcampus; includes books, courseware, supplementary materials and more

Teaching Commons: Works in Computer Science – open educational resources from leading colleges & universities; includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans,
multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more

WISC-Online: Computer science – free & open learning objects (Web-based, self-contained, small chunks of learning) on networks, web development,
IT databases; IT support and more;by faculty from the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS)

Lab manuals, Interactive materials & simulations
*many of the simulations and videos are view/use only (i.e. not adaptable)

Academic Earth : Computer Science – curated collection of videos from MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale
Bioconductor: Open Source Software- free open source software that facilitates rigorous and reproducible analysis of data from current and emerging biological assays.
CS50: Introduction to Computer Science (edX/Harvard)- Online video course; Harvard University's introduction to the intellectual enterprises of computer science and the art of programming for majors and non-majors
Ebook Foundation: - freely available programming books
Future Learn : Tech & Coding Courses – IT and computer sciences courses to learn to code or develop programming skills
MIT App Inventor - "an intuitive, visual programming environment that allows everyone – even children – to build fully functional apps for smartphones and tablets."
NanoHub:Develop Software - an open and free online platform for computational education, research, and collaboration in nanotechnology, materials science, and related fields
University of Oxford Podcasts: Computer Science - episodes created by the Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford, encompasses topics such as computational biology, quantum computing, computational linguistics, information systems, software verification, and software engineering
Wolfram Demonstrations Project: Computer Science – interactive demonstrations; can be run directly from the site using the built-in controls or downloaded to your local device; edit the source by downloading the author notebook and launching it in any Wolfram Language interface