Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources: ECONOMICS

How to find, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources.

OERs

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary.

Try the California State University: Course Materials Finder Tool  - Enter a book's ISBN to search for freely available related materials related to the book.

Featured Resources: Economics OER

Finding OERs by Discipline

Open Textbooks

Collections

CoreEcon

  • open access textbooks from CORE (Curriculum Open-access Resources in Economics)

InTechOpen: Business, Management, and Economics

  • over 154 peer-reviewed open access books

MERLOT Textbooks: Economics

  • a curated collection of free and open online textbooks

OAPEN: Economics

  • collection of open access books curated by the OAPEN Foundation (Netherlands)

OER Commons: Economics

  • a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Economics studies.

Open Book Publishers

  • UK publishing imprint that provides free online access

OpenStax: economics textbooks

  • collection of three economics textbooks: Principles of economics; Principles of Macroeconomics; and Principles of Microeconomics

Open Textbook Library

  • collection of e-textbooks includes books on economic analysis, microeconomics, and more from the University of Minnesota

Pressbooks OER

  • from the BCcampus Open Education collection of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses

Saylor Academy

  • collection of PDF versions of textbooks on various topics

Ubiquity Press

  • open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Wikibooks

  • from the Wikimedia foundation, an open content textbook collection 

Individual Textbooks

Intermediate Microeconomics with Excel (2nd Edition) (DePauw University)

Macroeconomics: Theory, Models, and Policy (BCcampus OpenEd)

Microeconomics: (University of Hawaii) - A revised version of OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2e

Models in Microeconomic Theory (OpenBook Publishers)

OpenStax Principles of Economics2e (OpenStax)

OpenStax Principles of Macroeconomics 2e (OpenStax)

Principles of Economics (University of Minnesota)

Principles of Macroeconomics Open Stax Second Edition

Principles of Macroeconomics: Lyryx (BCcamus OpenEd)

Principles of Macroeconomic Literacy (University of North Georgia)

Principles of Microeconomics (UVic)  (BCcampus OpenEd)

Principles of Microeconomics (Saylor.org)

Principles of Microeconomics 2e  (Open Stax)

Principles of Microeconomics: Lyryx (BCcampus Open Ed)

Principles of Microeconomics: Scarcity and Social Provisioning OpenOregon)

Principles of Political Economy (Open Textbook Library)

The Economics of Food and Agricultural Markets (Open textbook Library)
 

Open Courseware

BNED Courseware for Introduction to Macroeconomics

  • from BNC OER+

BNED Courseware for Introduction to Microeconomics

  • from BNC Open OER+

Brooklyn College Created Open Education Resources (OER): Business / Economics

  • Zero Textbook Cost courses 

CUNY Academic Works: Economics

  • instructional materials -- from textbooks to syllabi -- created by the CUNY community

ECON 201 Principles of Microeconomics 

  • OpenStax

ECON 202 Principles of Macroeconomics

  • OpenStax

Economics OER Assignment Library

  • from Course Hero

Future Learn: Economics

  • courses on economics such as "The Politics of Economics and the Economics of Politicians", "Economics of Crime", and "Exploring Economics: Will the Next Generation Be Worse Off?"

GALILEO Open Learning Materials

  • Business Administration, Management, and Economics Collections

Lumen Courseware: Economics

  • Only text content and images are open

MERLOT Materials: Economics

  • a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community

MIT Open Courseware: Economics

  • an extensive series of online courses, often including lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more

OpenCourse Library: Economics

  • courses and materials, free to download, edit, and use  

Open Yale: Economics Studies

  • a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics

 Saylor Academy: Economics

  • courses at college and professional levels

Teaching Commons : Economics

  • open Educational Resources From Leading Colleges & Universities

The Economy: Economics for a Changing World

  • a course in economics

 

General Economics-related OER

General Economics-related OER

Canvas Commons – Economics

  • courses, activities, quizzes and other learning materials

CORE Econ Collection

  • open-access platform for online textbooks and resources for a new way of teaching and learning economics

Econ Lit: Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)

  • database of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software

Economics Network

  • materials for use in learning economics, such as online textbooks, slides, simulations, videos, or exam papers from University of Bristol and University of Oxford

ECONSTOR

  • open access documents in economics from over 500 research institutions

OAPEN – Economics

  • collection of open access books curated by the OAPEN Foundation (Netherlands)

OASIS – Economics

  • economics-related open content (books, videos, courses) from 115 different sources  

OASIS: Finance

  • finance-related open content (books, video, courses) from 115 different sources

OER Commons: Economics

  • curated collection of resources (books, courses, assignments, etc.)

OER Commons: Finance

  • curated collection of resources (books, courses, assignments, etc.)

Open Economics Resource

  • economics resources curated by the Open Economics Working Group at the University of Cambridge

Lab manuals, Interactive materials & simulations

Lab manuals, Interactive materials & simulations

             *many of the simulations and videos are view/use only (i.e. not adaptable)

CoreEcon Visulizations

  • Interactive visualisations on the global distribution of income and wealth, and the network transmission of COVID-19

Films For Action: Economics Collection

  • videos from the “largest library for social change online”

Marginal Revolution University - University Teaching Resources: Economics

  • videos, news articles, games, activities and more – from George Mason University

METAL: Mathematics for Economics: enhancing Teaching and Learning

  • teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers of Undergraduate Level 1 Mathematics for Economics

 Resources For Teachers & Students in Economics and Personal Finance from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

  • videos, podcasts, activities and more

Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics

  • Interactive lecture Demonstrations under Creative Commons licenses

University of Oxford Podcasts: Department of Economics

  • educational podcasts from the University of Oxford

WISC-Online Learning Objects: Economics

  • from Wisconsin’s Technical Colleges