chat loading...

chat loading...

Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources: ENGINEERING

How to find, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources.

OERs

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary.

Try the California State University: Course Materials Finder Tool - Enter a book's ISBN to search for freely available related materials related to the book.

Featured Resources: Engineering OER

Finding OERs by Discipline

Engineering

Open Textbooks

ASEE/ELD Open Textbooks for Engineering- curated list of open textbooks from the American Society for Engineering Education

B.C. Open Collection: Engineering - a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) from British Columbia

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB):Engineering (General) - scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books

InTechOpen: Engineering – peer reviewed open access books in various engineering/technology fields [open access, but not openly licensed]

LibreTexts: Engineering – “multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts
to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning”

Mavs Open Press: Engineering – from the University of Texas at Arlington Libraries

Milne Open Textbooks: Engineering - Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo provides a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff

MIT OpenCourseware: Engineering Textbooks – open textbooks from MIT

The National Academies Press: Engineering and Technology- reports and books from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

OER Commons - Engineering - Engineering textbooks from OER Commons, a public digital library of open educational resources

Open Textbook Library: Engineering - a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers from the University of Minnesota

Teaching Commons: Engineering – open textbooks from leading colleges and universities

Open Courseware

Engineering at Alberta – open educational resources could include text, videos, interactive examples, or downloadable content such as code snippets

Learning Support Courseware for Engineering - Educational material based on work supported by the National Science Foundation; from Virginia Tech

Mechatronics Technology — NSC STEM Pathways - courses mapped to the Siemens Mechatronic Systems Level 1 certification

MERLOT Engineering Community Portal - resources on a wide variety of topics ranging from aerospace engineering to petroleum engineering to help with teaching and research

MIT Open Courseware Engineering Courses – courses, materials, & teaching resources

Open Michigan: Engineering – includes syllabi, assignments, lectures, course materials, student work, and labs

Stanford Engineering Everywhere - Access full course materials including lecture videos, syllabi, handouts, homework, and exams from Stanford

Teaching Commons: Engineering - open educational resources from leading colleges and universities, includes open-access textbooks, course materials,
lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more

General Engineering-related OER

MERLOT Materials: Engineering – discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages,
together with associated comments, and bookmark collections

National Science Digital Library: Engineering – high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences,
technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM)

OASIS: Engineering – a search tool for open content from 115 different sources from SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library

OER Commons: Engineering – a large collection of resources, including textbooks, lesson plans, activities, assessments, & more

Lab manuals, Interactive materials & simulations
*many of the simulations and videos are view/use only (i.e. not adaptable)

ECE YouTube videos - Tutorial videos on signal processing and random signals from UMass Dartmouth's ECE 320 and ECE 521 courses

Engineering Computations at Github - A collection of learning modules in engineering computations for undergraduate studies, using Python and Jupyter Notebooks

Engineering Technology 3D Simulations (MERLOT) -Over 150 emeddable or downloadable 3D Simulations in the subject area of Automation,
Electro/Mechanical, Process Control, and Renewable Energy

Engineering Technology: Simulations for Learning – from Eastern Iowa Community Colleges (EICC); Learning simulations covering Automation & Robotics,
Electrical & Motor Control, Process Control or Renewable Energy

Learn ChemE - chemical engineering education resources – including simulations, screencasts, labs & more -prepared by faculty for use by students and instructors

nanohub: Model and Simulate – tools and apps for education and research

Problem Sets for Aerospace Structures - a collection of interactive problems and solutions from Virginia Tech includes over
twenty-five collections of 3-5 problems each on topics relevant to undergraduate-level aerospace structures

University of Oxford Podcasts: Department of Engineering Science -educational engineering podcasts from the University of Oxford

Virtual Labs: Engineering – From the India Ministry of Education, simulation-based Labs in various disciplines of Science and Engineering